Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Earth Sciences, Geography, Environment, Planning

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 125K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            COVID-19: What you need to know about the coronavirus and the race for the vaccine
             

            COVID-19: What you need to know about the coronavirus and the race for the vaccine (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Mosley, Dr Michael

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            AUSTRALIA AND NEW ZEALAND EDITION This book charts the trajectory of the COVID-19 virus, from its emergence in China at the end of 2019 to its rapid worldwide spread. Based on the latest scientific discoveries, Dr Mosley gives you a detailed understanding of the secrets of this c...oronavirus, how it spreads, how it infects your body and how your immune system tries to fight back. Armed with the facts you'll be in a much better position to protect yourself and your family when the world begins to reopen. Dr Mosley also follows the work of leading doctors and virus researchers as they battle to find treatments and a safe and effective vaccine (ultimately, the only way to defeat the virus). Eating well, sleeping soundly, exercising and managing your stress are all critical for keeping your brain, body and immune system in the best possible shape over the coming months. These are areas where Dr Mosley is well known for his science-based and practical approach.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760857592
            Published AU 1 Jun 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Ten Commitments Revisited: Securing Australia's Future Environment
             

            Ten Commitments Revisited: Securing Australia's Future Environment (Paperback)

            Edited by Morton, Steve; Lindenmayer, David; Dovers, Stephen

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $44.99
            • Save $5.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A 'must read' follow-up to the highly successful Ten Commitments book.

            ISBN 9781486301676
            Published AU 1 Sep 2014
            Publisher CSIRO Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Politics of Indonesian Rainforests
             

            The Politics of Indonesian Rainforests (Paperback)

            By Smith, Shannon L.

            • RRP: $11.00
            • $11.00
            • Not Available
            ISBN 9780732604189
            Published AU 1 Dec 1992
            Publisher Inbooks
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Series Working papers
            Availability
            Not currently available
            View details for this title
            Australia's War Against Rabbits: The Story of Rabbit Haemorrhagic Disease
              

            Australia's War Against Rabbits: The Story of Rabbit Haemorrhagic Disease (Paperback)

            By Cooke, Brian Douglas

            • RRP: $79.99
            • $71.99
            • Save $8.00
            • Available At Publisher

            Provides up-to-date information on the use of biological control agents to manage wild rabbit populations.

            ISBN 9780643096127
            Published AU 1 Jun 2014
            Publisher CSIRO Publishing
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Squid, the Vibrio and the Moon

            The Squid, the Vibrio and the Moon (Hardback)

            By Wild, Ailsa; Reed, Aviva; Barr, Briony; Crocetti, Gregory; Blackall, Linda

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $2.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Learn about the symbiotic relationship between a bobtail squid and a bacterium in this stunning children's book.

            ISBN 9781486309894
            Published AU 1 Feb 2019
            Publisher CSIRO Publishing
            Interest Age 2-6 years
            Series Small Friends Books
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Australia's Amazing Sharks
             

            Australia's Amazing Sharks (Hardback)

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $19.99
            • Pub Date
              1 Oct 20

            Featuring detailed illustrations of the sharks that call Australia home, this amazing book profiles key species, such as the great white shark, the whale shark, the great hammerhead shark and the grey nurse shark, as well as introducing young readers to more exotic species such a...s the cookiecutter shark and the tassled wobbegong. Get ready to dive in!
            Read more

            ISBN 9781925847802
            Published AU 1 Oct 2020
            Publisher AUSTRALIAN GEOGRAPHIC
            Interest Age Children
            Series AUSTRALIA'S AMAZING ANIMALS
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference

            How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Huntley, Rebecca

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A self-help book for the climate era, for readers of Ross Garnaut, Tim Flannery, Hugh Mackay Why is it so hard to talk about climate change? Perhaps no other issue today is as confronting as our warming earth. But while scientists double down on the shocking figures, we still fin...d ourselves unable to discuss climate change meaningfully among friends and neighbours - or even to grapple with it ourselves. The key to progress on climate change is in the psychology of human attitudes and our ability to change. Whether you're already alarmed and engaged with the issue, concerned but disengaged, a passive skeptic or an active denier, understanding our emotional reactions to climate change - why it makes us anxious, fearful, angry or detached - is critical to coping on an individual level and convincing each other to act. This book is about understanding why people who aren't like you feel the way they do and learning to talk to them effectively. What we need are thousands - millions - of everyday conversations about the climate to enlarge the ranks of the concerned, engage the disengaged and persuade the cautious of the need for action.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760525361
            Published AU 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Murdoch Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Oak Papers

            The Oak Papers (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Canton, James

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Oaks are born and die on the same patch of earth. It is that sure-footedness that is so appealing. Ancient oaks hold a powerful sense of the longevity of life. The sense of security, of attachment to place, enchants us. You can stand beneath a grand oak and know that your more di...stant ancestors did so too. This is the story of one man's relationship to an ancient tree, the Honywood Oak. Colossal and wizened, it would have been a sapling when the Magna Carta was signed in 1215. James Canton spent two years sitting with and studying this unique tree. It was an exercise in discipline- he needed to slow down in order to appreciate it fully, to tune in to it, to connect with the ecosystem that lives around, inside and under it. In this stunning, meditative treatise, he examines our long-standing relationship with trees, a material as well as a source of myth and legend, and of solace. We no longer build our houses from the sturdy oak and its relatives, use them to fuel our fires or grind their seeds and nuts into flour in times of famine. Physically, we don't need them. Or do we? The natural world has lessons for us - if we slow down enough to listen.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760642594
            Published AU 7 Sep 2020
            Publisher Black Inc
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World
             

            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Clode, Danielle

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              29 Sep 20

            A voyage of discovery, nature and untold histories - in the vein of Clare Wright, Edmund de Waal and Helen Macdonald.

            ISBN 9781760784959
            Published AU 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Ancient Bones: Unearthing the astonishing new story of how we became human
             

            Ancient Bones: Unearthing the astonishing new story of how we became human (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Bohme, Madelaine; Braun, Rudiger; Breier, Florian

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • Pub Date
              29 Sep 20

            A leading paleontologist discovers the missing link in human evolution. Somewhere west of Munich, Madelaine B hme and her colleagues dig for clues to the origins of humankind. What they discover is beyond anything they imagined- the fossilised bones of Danuvius guggenmosi ignite ...a global media frenzy. This ancient ancestor defies our knowledge of human history - his nearly twelve-million-year-old bones were not located in Africa - the so-called birthplace of humanity - but in Europe, and his features suggest we evolved much differently than scientists once believed. In prose that reads like a gripping detective novel, Ancient Bones interweaves the story of the dig that changed everything with the fascinating answer to a previously undecided and now pressing question- How, exactly, did we become human? Placing B hme's discovery alongside former theories of human evolution, the authors show how this remarkable find (and others in Eurasia) are forcing us to rethink the story we've been told about how we came to be, a story that has been our guiding narrative - until now
            Read more

            ISBN 9781922310347
            Published AU 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Scribe Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 125K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›