Wheelers Books

Skin Deep

Skin Deep
 

"I wanted to say this morning, only you ran off ... sorry if I was rude.' The boy from the boat grineed, looking straight at me. 'You surprised me, that's all. The scar' - he touched his face - 'took me by surprise. I didn't mean to be rude.' I gaped at him. Nobody ever, ever men... read full description below.

This title can only be ordered as part of Wheelers ePlatform - a library lending platform for schools and public libraries.

Log in with an ePlatform enabled account.

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781780310794
Published 5 March 2012 by Egmont UK Ltd
Available in EPUB format
Software Adobe Ebook Compatible Devices
Language en
Author(s) By Jarratt, Laura
Availability Wheelers ePlatform

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781780310794
ISBN-10
Stock Available
Status Wheelers ePlatform
Publisher Egmont UK Ltd
Imprint Egmont
Publication Date 5 March 2012
Publication Country
Format EPUB ebook
Author(s) By Jarratt, Laura
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Teenage Romance
Thrillers
Crime & Mystery
Number of Pages 384
Dimensions Not specified
Weight Not specified - defaults to 0g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Electronic Book

"I wanted to say this morning, only you ran off ... sorry if I was rude.' The boy from the boat grineed, looking straight at me. 'You surprised me, that's all. The scar' - he touched his face - 'took me by surprise. I didn't mean to be rude.' I gaped at him. Nobody ever, ever mentioned the scars." An against-the-odds teen love story shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Ugly people don't have feelings. They're not like everyone else. They don't notice if you stare at them and turn away. And if they did notice, it wouldn't hurt them. They're not like real people. Or that's what I used to think. Before I learned . . . After the car crash that leaves her best friend dead, Jenna is permanently scarred. She struggles to rebuild her life, but every stare in the street, every time she looks in the mirror, makes her want to retreat further from the world. Until she meets Ryan. Ryan's a traveller. When he and his mother moor their narrow boat on the outskirts of a village, she tells him this time it will be different. He doesn't believe her; he can't imagine why this place shouldn't be as unwelcoming as the rest. Until he meets Jenna. But as Jenna and Ryan grow closer, repercussions from the crash continue to reverberate through the community. And then a body is found . . . A story of prejudice and courage, brimming with mystery. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Valentine and Jenny Downham. Look out for Laura's other books: Louder than Words, By Any Other Name, and In Another Life. Laura Jarratt was born in Salford and has lived all over the UK. Although her favourite subject was English, she accidentally studied Science at university. She finally settled in rural Cheshire, where she lives with her family and is owned by a ginger cat with no tail. By day, she works in education because it's never boring and by night, she writes for young adults because they're the most interesting people in the world. Skin Deep, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Prize and the the YA category of the Romantic Novelists Association.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Laura Jarratt was born in Salford and has lived all over the UK. Although her favourite subject was English, she accidentally studied Science at university. She finally settled in rural Cheshire, where she lives with her family and is owned by a ginger cat with no tail. By day, she works in education because it's never boring and by night, she writes for young adults because they're the most interesting people in the world. Skin Deep, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Prize and thethe YA category of the Romantic Novelists Association.

^ top