Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Natural History, Country Life & Pets

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 68.0K jump to: go ‹ previous...34567...next ›
            Ring of Bright Water
             

            Ring of Bright Water (Paperback)

            By Maxwell, Gavin

            • RRP: $31.99
            • $31.99
            • Not Available

            Presents an account of authors life at Camusfearna, a remote cottage in the western Highlands. This book also focuses on the two otters, Mijbil and Edal, who became his constant and much-loved companions.

            ISBN 9780956254504
            Released AU 13 May 2009
            Publisher Little Toller Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Nature Classics Library
            Availability
            Not currently available
            View details for this title
            Kittens in 3-D
             

            Kittens in 3-D (Hardback)

            By Morita, Yoneo

            • RRP: $34.50
            • $30.99
            • Save $3.51
            • Not Available

            From Persians to Abysinnians, this book captures the quintessential personalities of your favorite kittens. Organized according to breed, it pairs painfully cute photographs with playful quotes from the likes of Lewis Carroll, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Truman Capote, and Raymond Ch...andler - all avid cat-lovers.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780062039576
            Released AU 12 Aug 2011
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Not currently available
            View details for this title
            This Is the Dog
             

            This Is the Dog (Hardback, illustrated edition)

            By McFarlane, Sheryl

            • RRP: $29.50
            • $29.50
            • Not Available

            The puppy has escaped and chaos erupts everywhere he goes throughout the town.

            ISBN 9781550415513
            Released AU 1 Apr 2003
            Publisher Fitzhenry & Whiteside Ltd
            Interest Age 3-7 years
            Availability
            Not currently available
            View details for this title
            The Rise of Humans
             

            The Rise of Humans (Hardback)

            By West, David

            • RRP: $56.50
            • $56.50
            • Not Available

            This dynamic series takes readers into the thrilling and frightening world of prehistoric Earth. This volume, focused on the early days of ancient humans, is filled with lush, vivid illustrations that portray the Earth and its inhabitants at this time, accompanied by a lively and... informative narrative. Special features include timelines, labeled illustrations, and scaled illustrations that demonstrate comparative sizes.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781625880871
            Released AU 1 Aug 2014
            Publisher Smart Apple Media
            Interest Age 8-10 years
            Series Prehistoric!
            Availability
            Not currently available
            View details for this title
            The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
             

            The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century (Hardback)

            By Johnson, Kirk Wallace

            • RRP: $53.50
            • $51.50
            • Save $2.00
            • Out Of Print

            Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller. --Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever. --Christian Science Monitor A rollicking true-crime adventure and a ca...ptivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief. On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins--some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them--and escaped into the darkness. Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781101981610
            Released AU 24 Apr 2018
            Publisher Viking
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Out of print
            View details for this title
            National Geographic Guide to National Parks of the United States, 8th Edition
              

            National Geographic Guide to National Parks of the United States, 8th Edition (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 8th Revised edition)

            By Geographic, National; By (photographer) Schermeister, Phil

            • RRP: $46.00
            • $34.50
            • Save $11.50
            • To Order/ Indent titles

            Packed with more color photographs and detailed, color maps than any other parks guidebook on the market, this handy, practical, guide offers comprehensive information on the crown jewels of the national park system--the 58 scenic national parks that conserve and protect the flor...a and fauna in some of the nation's last wilderness areas.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781426216510
            Released AU 15 Mar 2016
            Publisher National Geographic Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order
            View details for this title
            How Dogs Work
             

            How Dogs Work (Hardback)

            By Coppinger, Raymond; Feinstein, Mark H.; Foreword by Burghardt, Gordon

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $59.99
            • Available At Publisher

            How well do we really know dogs? People may enjoy thinking about them as man's best friend, but what actually drives the things they do? What is going on in their fur-covered heads as they look at us with their big, expressive eyes? Raymond Coppinger and Mark Feinstein know somet...hing about these questions, and with How Dogs Work, they're ready to share; this is their guide to understanding your dog and its behavior. Approaching dogs as a biological species rather than just as pets, Coppinger and Feinstein accessibly synthesize decades of research and field experiments to explain the evolutionary foundations behind dog behaviors. They examine the central importance of the shape of dogs: how their physical body (including the genes and the brain) affects behavior, how shape interacts with the environment as animals grow, and how all of this has developed over time. Shape, they tell us, is what makes a champion sled dog or a Border collie that can successfully herd sheep. Other chapters in How Dogs Work explore such mysteries as: why dogs play; whether dogs have minds, and if so what kinds of things they might know; why dogs bark; how dogs feed and forage; and the influence of the early relationship between mother and pup. Going far beyond the cozy lap dog, Coppinger and Feinstein are equally fascinated by what we can learn from the adaptations of dogs, wolves, coyotes, jackals, dingoes, and even pumas in the wild, as well as the behavior of working animals like guarding and herding dogs. We cherish dogs as family members and deeply value our lengthy companionship with them. But, isn't it time we knew more about who Fido and Trixie really are? How Dogs Work will provide some keys to unlocking the origins of many of our dogs' most common, most puzzling, and most endearing behaviors.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780226128139
            Released AU 15 Oct 2015
            Publisher FOOTPRINT BOOKS
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Penguins: The Animal Answer Guide
             

            Penguins: The Animal Answer Guide (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Kooyman, Gerald L.; Lynch, Wayne

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $59.99
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Do you know why penguins live only in the southern hemisphere? Or that they can be ferocious predators? Why are penguins black and white? Do they play? This book answers these questions and many more, illuminating the biology and evolutionary history of these odd, flightless bird...s.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781421410517
            Released AU 15 Sep 2013
            Publisher FOOTPRINT BOOKS
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Series The Animal Answer Guides: Q&A for the Curious Naturalist
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Saving the Last Rhinos: The Life of a Frontline Conservationist
             

            Saving the Last Rhinos: The Life of a Frontline Conservationist (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Fowlds, Grant; Spence, Graham

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Over the last nine years, over 6,100 rhinoceroses have been killed by poachers in South Africa leaving fewer than 19,000 white rhinoceroses and 2,000 black rhinoceroses in the country. Saving the Last Rhinos tells the remarkable story of conservationist Grant Fowlds.

            ISBN 9781472142528
            Released AU 12 Nov 2019
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Spirals in Time: The Secret Life and Curious Afterlife of Seashells
             

            Spirals in Time: The Secret Life and Curious Afterlife of Seashells (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Scales, Helen

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $29.99
            • Out Of Print

            The beautifully written story of shells and their makers, and our relationships with them

            ISBN 9781472916709
            Released AU 27 May 2015
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Out of print
            View details for this title
            Total 68.0K jump to: go ‹ previous...34567...next ›