Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Natural History, Country Life & Pets

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 126K jump to: go ‹ previous...34567...next ›
            The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
             

            The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century (Hardback)

            By Johnson, Kirk Wallace

            • RRP: $52.50
            • $50.50
            • Save $2.00
            • Out Of Print

            Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller. --Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever. --Christian Science Monitor A rollicking true-crime adventure and a ca...ptivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief. On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins--some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them--and escaped into the darkness. Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781101981610
            Released AU 24 Apr 2018
            Publisher Viking
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Out of print
            View details for this title
            National Geographic Guide to National Parks of the United States, 8th Edition
              

            National Geographic Guide to National Parks of the United States, 8th Edition (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 8th Revised edition)

            By Geographic, National; By (photographer) Schermeister, Phil

            • RRP: $46.00
            • $34.50
            • Save $11.50
            • To Order

            Packed with more color photographs and detailed, color maps than any other parks guidebook on the market, this handy, practical, guide offers comprehensive information on the crown jewels of the national park system--the 58 scenic national parks that conserve and protect the flor...a and fauna in some of the nation's last wilderness areas.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781426216510
            Released AU 15 Mar 2016
            Publisher National Geographic Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Rise of Humans
             

            The Rise of Humans (Hardback)

            By West, David

            • RRP: $55.50
            • $55.50
            • Not Available

            This dynamic series takes readers into the thrilling and frightening world of prehistoric Earth. This volume, focused on the early days of ancient humans, is filled with lush, vivid illustrations that portray the Earth and its inhabitants at this time, accompanied by a lively and... informative narrative. Special features include timelines, labeled illustrations, and scaled illustrations that demonstrate comparative sizes.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781625880871
            Released AU 1 Aug 2014
            Publisher Smart Apple Media
            Interest Age 8-10 years
            Series Prehistoric!
            Availability
            Not currently available
            View details for this title
            Ring of Bright Water

            Ring of Bright Water (Paperback)

            By Maxwell, Gavin

            • RRP: $31.50
            • $31.50
            • In Stock UK

            Presents an account of authors life at Camusfearna, a remote cottage in the western Highlands. This book also focuses on the two otters, Mijbil and Edal, who became his constant and much-loved companions.

            ISBN 9780956254504
            Released AU 13 May 2009
            Publisher Little Toller Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Nature Classics Library
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Cryptozoology A to Z: The Encyclopedia of Loch Monsters Sasquatch Chupacabras
              

            Cryptozoology A to Z: The Encyclopedia of Loch Monsters Sasquatch Chupacabras (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Coleman, Loren; Clark, Jerome; Illustrated by Unknown

            • RRP: $37.50
            • $35.62
            • Save $1.88
            • To Order

            Explores the truth and the myths behind such legendary creatures as the Loch Ness monster and Sasquatch.

            ISBN 9780684856025
            Released AU 15 Sep 1999
            Publisher Prentice Hall
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Spirals in Time: The Secret Life and Curious Afterlife of Seashells
             

            Spirals in Time: The Secret Life and Curious Afterlife of Seashells (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Scales, Helen

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $29.99
            • Out Of Print

            The beautifully written story of shells and their makers, and our relationships with them

            ISBN 9781472916709
            Released AU 27 May 2015
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Out of print
            View details for this title
            The Exultant Ark: A Pictorial Tour of Animal Pleasure
             

            The Exultant Ark: A Pictorial Tour of Animal Pleasure (Hardback)

            By Balcombe, Jonathan Peter

            • RRP: $87.99
            • $87.99
            • Available At Publisher

            Opens our eyes to a different, more scientifically way of looking at the animal kingdom. In more than one hundred striking images, this title celebrates the full range of animal experience with dramatic portraits of animal pleasure ranging from the charismatic and familiar to the... obscure and bizarre.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780520260245
            Released AU 15 May 2011
            Publisher University of California Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Eels

            Eels (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gish, Melissa

            • RRP: $23.99
            • $23.99
            • In Stock US

            A look at hyenas, including their habitats, physical characteristics such as their powerful jaws, behaviors, relationships with humans, and the declining populations of these often-misunderstood animals in the world today --

            ISBN 9781628325621
            Released AU 1 Mar 2019
            Publisher Creative Paperbacks
            Interest Age 8-12 years
            Series Living Wild
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Gundog Training Made Easy
             

            Gundog Training Made Easy (Trade Paperback / Paperback, New title)

            By Begbie, Eric

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $28.50
            • Save $8.49
            • In Stock US

            Gundog Training Made Easy by Eric Begbie is a detailed set of step-by-step lessons based on his famous set of Gundog Training Broadsheets that have been used by many thousands of gundog and hunting enthusiasts in all five continents. This superbly written book provides a wonderfu...lly explicit training course for training any gun dog or hunting dog. It is ideal for retrievers or for spaniels and is equally valuable for pet dogs. In addition to the structured training course, graduated according to the age and stage of the puppy, there is a section of Frequently Asked Questions and a wealth of other information. Importantly, this book uses only positive humane methods of dog training and totally avoids aversive techniques. A must for every dog owner.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781411670297
            Released AU 12 Nov 2006
            Publisher Lulu.com
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Born Free
             

            Born Free (Paperback, New Edition)

            By Adamson, Joy

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The classic story of Elsa the lioness and the woman who cared for her.

            ISBN 9781509860241
            Released AU 26 Sep 2017
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Series Pan 70th Anniversary
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 126K jump to: go ‹ previous...34567...next ›