Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Pasifika

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 18.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            One Small Island
             

            One Small Island (Hardback)

            By Lester, Alison; Tulloch, Coral

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Macquarie Island lies in the Southern Ocean, between Antarctica and New Zealand. A speck of green in the vast, windswept sea, it is a haven for many creatures that live above and below the waves. This title tells the story of this remote and precious World Heritage Site.

            ISBN 9780670072361
            Published AU 1 Aug 2011
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age Children
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Born to Fight: The bestselling story of UFC champion Mark Hunt, the real life Rocky
             

            Born to Fight: The bestselling story of UFC champion Mark Hunt, the real life Rocky (Paperback)

            By Hunt, Mark; Mckelvey, Ben

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            There's more than a few instances in this biography of UFC cult favourite Mark Hunt that make you shake your head in can't-make-this-stuff-up disbelief - Inside Sport A powerful story of sadness, hope, pride, honour and triumph from the real-life Rocky! Raw, confronting and hones...t, UFC champion Mark Hunt's inspiring autobiography shows it is possible to defy the odds and carve a better life. Born into a Mormon Samoan family, Hunt details his harrowing early life, his troubled teen years, and his angry youth with no apparent future. After being plucked from an Auckland street fight and dropped into his first kickboxing bout, Mark went on to achieve unprecedented success in Australian and New Zealand combat sports. In an ongoing career that has spanned the globe, Mark Hunt has been in some of the UFC, Pride and K-1's most memorable battles. But in some ways those fights pale in comparison to that which he has overcome out of the ring and cage. As fearless with his opinions as he is in the Octagon, Mark pulls no punches in revealing the highs and lows of his extraordinary life.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780733638800
            Published AU 27 Jun 2017
            Publisher Hachette
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Surfari
              

            Surfari (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Baker, Tim

            • RRP: $54.99
            • $41.24
            • Save $13.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            All surfers dream of shedding responsibilities and answering the siren song of the ocean swells. For most, it is an ideal that recedes as age advances - as family, career and provider commitments overwhelm the wanderlust of youth. But what if you could defy the slow march of age?... Shelve all your worldly pressures, pack up the family and a few trusty surfboards and hit the open road for the Great Australian surfing road trip? Best-selling surf writer Tim Baker is doing just that. Inspired by the dreams of his youth, and in the face of looming middle-age, Baker is embarking on the Big Lap, with his wife Kirsten and two children, Vivi, 8, and Alex, 4. Starting in late January 2011, the family will set out from their home in Currumbin, Queensland, heading south down the east coast. Over the next six to eight months, they will circumnavigate the country, as Baker documents the state of surf culture and our coastline, and the array of colourful characters encountered along the way. Surfari Highway will evoke all the magic and charm, the challenges and perils of the Australian coastline and the curious variety of human sub-species who inhabit it. The result will be a lively, colourful handbook on how to trade your life for another variety, the delights and dangers that lay in wait for those who dare to chase their dreams, and how a family of four survive six months on the road in the close quarters of a four-wheel drive and a caravan. It is a story for anyone who has ever dreamed of an alternative to the busy, micro-scheduled existence of work, school, shopping and housework. It offers vindication for all those Sea Changers and Baby Boomers, mature age longboarders and carefree beachcombers who have heeded the surf's call. And it will provide an inspirational text for every bored office worker, desperate housewife or unfulfilled suburban dad who senses there has to be another way.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781864712124
            Published AU 1 Nov 2011
            Publisher Random House
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Architect of Kokoda: Bert Kienzle - The Man Who Made the Kokoda Trail
              

            The Architect of Kokoda: Bert Kienzle - The Man Who Made the Kokoda Trail (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Kienzle, Robyn

            If one person made the Kokoda Track that man was Bert Kienzle. Part Samoan and German/English, born in Fiji and raised in Germany and Australia, he was managing a rubber plantation and gold mine in Papua New Guinea at the outbreak of WWII.

            ISBN 9780733627637
            Replacement this title has been replaced by: 9780733630262
            Published AU 26 Jul 2011
            Publisher Hachette
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Series Hachette Military Collec
            Availability
            Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
            View details for this title
            Choke: Use the Secrets of Your Brain to Succeed When it Matters Most
               

            Choke: Use the Secrets of Your Brain to Succeed When it Matters Most (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Beilock, Sian

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $33.50
            • Save $3.49
            • To Order/ Indent titles

            Why do you mess up when it matters the most - and how can you perform your best instead? Sian Beilock reveals the new science of why we all too often blunder when the stakes are high. She explains the inescapable links between body and mind, and shows how to succeed brilliantly w...hen it matters most.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780522853247
            Published AU 1 Feb 2011
            Publisher Melbourne University Press
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order
            View details for this title
            The Lost Pearl
             

            The Lost Pearl (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Madden, Emily

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $26.99
            • Save $3.00
            • Temporarily out of stock

            For readers of Fiona McIntosh and Mary-Anne O'Connor, a sweeping family saga of long lost love, a forbidden secret and a family reunited. From Pearl Harbour to the shores of Sydney, a family secret that spans generations could unite a family - or destroy it. Honolulu, Hawaii 1941... On the evening of her sixteenth birthday party, Catherine McGarrie wants nothing more than for the night to be over, even though the opulence of the ballroom befits the daughter of a US Navy Rear Admiral. Then she meets Charlie, a navy officer from the other side of the tracks, a man her parents would never approve of. As rumours of war threaten their tropical paradise, Catherine and Charlie fall in love. But the bombing of Pearl Harbour on 7th December 1941 changes their lives forever. Seventy-five years later, addled by age and painkillers, Catherine tells her granddaughter Kit her story and reveals the tale of a long-lost treasure. Can Kit uncover the secret and reunite her family? Or will the truth tear them apart?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781489251343
            Published AU 20 Aug 2018
            Publisher Harlequin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            The Boys in the Waka Ama
             

            The Boys in the Waka Ama (Paperback)

            By Belcher, Angie; Illustrated by Tipuna, Debbie

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.24
            • Save $3.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            "Tahi, rua, toru, wha! Hoea to waka! Meet the team of boys who are training hard for the big competition in this exciting story about waka ama racing!"--Publisher information.

            ISBN 9780143774297
            Published AU 4 Feb 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 3-7 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Hidden Wonders
             

            Hidden Wonders (Hardback)

            By Planet Kids, Lonely

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $23.99
            • Save $6.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Take a journey into the unknown and discover the planet's wildest and most wonderful sights. Paddle through the eerie glowworm caves of New Zealand, ride with the wild horses of the Namib desert, and swing off the end of the world in Ecuador. Packed with incredible facts, photos ...and illustrations.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781788683258
            Released AU 1 Oct 2019
            Publisher Lonely Planet Global Limited
            Interest Age 6-12 years
            Series Lonely Planet Kids
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 5-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Pacifica
              

            Pacifica (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Simmons, Kristen

            • RRP: $16.99
            • $15.29
            • Save $1.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            An all-new stand-alone high-seas adventure from the critically acclaimed author of Article 5 and The Glass Arrow

            ISBN 9780765336668
            Released AU 5 Feb 2019
            Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            From Modern Production to Imagined Primitive: The Social World of Coffee from Papua New Guinea
             

            From Modern Production to Imagined Primitive: The Social World of Coffee from Papua New Guinea (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By West, Paige

            • Imp. $43.99
            • $43.99
            • No availability locally

            An ethnography of the production of coffee from producer to consumer with emphasis on the effect of global commodity chains.

            ISBN 9780822351504
            Released AU 10 Feb 2012
            Publisher Inbooks
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 18.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›