Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Crime & Criminology

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 21.5K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Catching the Wolf of Wall Street

            Catching the Wolf of Wall Street (Paperback)

            By Belfort, Jordan

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In the 1990s Jordan Belfort became one of the most infamous names in American finance: a brilliant, conniving stock-chopper, known as the Wolf of Wall Street. The day Jordan was arrested and taken away in handcuffs was not the end of the madness. This book tells of what happened ...after he was released on $10 million bail.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780733626425
            Published AU 1 Aug 2010
            Publisher Hachette
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            When Angels Sleep: A gripping, nail-biting serial killer thriller

            When Angels Sleep: A gripping, nail-biting serial killer thriller (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Griffin, Mark

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • To Order

            The second thriller in the enthralling Holly Wakefield series, perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith and the TV crime series Luther.

            ISBN 9780349420752
            Released AU 26 Nov 2019
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Diamond Doris: The True Story of the World's Most Notorious Jewel Thief

            Diamond Doris: The True Story of the World's Most Notorious Jewel Thief (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Payne, Doris; Lockhart, Zelda

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The incredible memoir of the world's most notorious jewel thief, Doris Payne; shocking, entertaining, hilarious and affecting, this is the true crime autobiography you cannot miss.

            ISBN 9781472270535
            Released AU 24 Sep 2019
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Capital Punishment
              

            Capital Punishment (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            Edited by McCafferty, James A.

            • RRP: $75.99
            • $75.99
            • To Order

            Presents an analyses of the nature of capital punishment and provides perspectives on the larger issues of our approach to law-breakers and their rehabilitation. This title includes the claims of both those who want to retain capital punishment and those who want to abolish it.

            ISBN 9780202363288
            Released AU 15 Nov 2009
            Publisher Taylor & Francis Inc
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Jack the Ripper: The Definitive History
              

            Jack the Ripper: The Definitive History (Paperback, illustrated edition)

            By Begg, Paul

            • RRP: $31.99
            • $31.99
            • To Order

            When Jack the Ripper walked onto the streets of the East End he came to represent everything that was wrong with the area and with society as a whole. This book sets his murders in their historical context, examining in depth what East London was like in 1888, how it came to be t...hat way, and how events led to this most infamous and grisly episode.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781405807128
            Released AU 2 Nov 2004
            Publisher Taylor & Francis Ltd
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Contrasts in Punishment: An explanation of Anglophone excess and Nordic exceptionalism
               

            Contrasts in Punishment: An explanation of Anglophone excess and Nordic exceptionalism (Hardback)

            By Pratt, John; Eriksson, Anna

            • RRP: $284.00
            • $284.00
            • To Order

            Why do some modern societies punish their offenders differently to others? Why are some more punitive and others more tolerant in their approach to offending and how can these differences be explained? Based on extensive historical analysis and fieldwork in the penal systems of E...ngland, Australia, New Zealand on the one hand, and Finland, Norway and Sweden on the other, this book seeks to address these underlying questions. The book argues that the penal differences that currently exist between these two clusters of societies emanate from their early nineteenth century social arrangements. The Anglophone societies were dominated by exclusionary value systems in contrast to the more inclusionary values of the Nordic. The development of their penal programmes over this two hundred year period, including the much earlier demise of the death penalty in the Nordic countries and significant differences between the respective prison rates and prison conditions of the two clusters, reflects the continuing influence of these values. Indeed, in the early 21st century these differences have become even more pronounced. John Pratt and Anna Eriksson offer a unique contribution to the growing importance of comparative research in the history and sociology of punishment. This book will be of interest to those studying criminology, sociology, punishment, prison and penal policy as well as professionals working in prisons or in the area of penal policy across the six societies that feature in the book
            Read more

            ISBN 9780415524735
            Released AU 5 Dec 2012
            Publisher Taylor & Francis Ltd
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Series Routledge Frontiers of Criminal Justice
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Treatment
             

            The Treatment (Hardback)

            By Nath, Michael

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $39.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              5 Mar 20

            At a bus stop in south London, black teenager Eldine Matthews is murdered by a racist gang. Twenty years later, L Troop's top boys - models of vice, deviance and violence - are far beyond justice. There are some people the law will not touch.

            ISBN 9781787479364
            Released AU 5 Mar 2020
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Phantom Prince: My Life with Ted Bundy, Updated and Expanded Edition
             

            The Phantom Prince: My Life with Ted Bundy, Updated and Expanded Edition (Hardback)

            By Kendall, Elizabeth; Contributions by Kendall, Molly

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $35.99
            • Save $4.00
            • Pub Date
              15 Feb 20

            Inspiration for the Prime original series Ted Bundy: falling for a killer --Jacket.

            ISBN 9781419744853
            Released AU 15 Feb 2020
            Publisher Abrams
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            What You Pay For: Shortlisted for McIlvanney and CWA Awards

            What You Pay For: Shortlisted for McIlvanney and CWA Awards (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Askew, Claire

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The second novel from the extremely talented Claire Askew, 'a stunning new voice in crime fiction' (Erin Kelly): what comes first, family or justice?

            ISBN 9781473673083
            Released AU 27 Aug 2019
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series DI Birch
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Not for Sale: The Return of the Global Slave Trade--and How We Can Fight It
             

            Not for Sale: The Return of the Global Slave Trade--and How We Can Fight It (Paperback, Revised, Updated ed.)

            By Batstone, David

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • To Order

            An award-winning journalist profiles the new generation of abolitionists who are fighting today's slave trade--the global human trafficking epidemic--and offers readers practical steps to help end it.

            ISBN 9780061998836
            Released AU 2 Nov 2010
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 21.5K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›