Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Biography & Autobiography: Literary

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 914 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Oscar: A Life
             

            Oscar: A Life (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Sturgis, Matthew

            • RRP: $47.50
            • $38.00
            • Save $9.50
            • Internationally sourced

            The first major biography of Oscar Wilde in thirty years is the most complete telling of his life and times to date.

            ISBN 9781788545983
            Released AU 4 Nov 2019
            Publisher Head of Zeus
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Ministry of Truth: A Biography of George Orwell's 1984

            The Ministry of Truth: A Biography of George Orwell's 1984 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Lynskey, Dorian

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $26.39
            • Save $6.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In The Lie Becomes the Truth, Dorian Lynskey charts the life of George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four: one of the most influential books of the 20th Century, a perennial bestseller, and a work that remains more relevant than ever in today's tumultuous world.

            ISBN 9781509890743
            Released AU 28 May 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Becoming Beauvoir: A Life
             

            Becoming Beauvoir: A Life (Hardback)

            By Kirkpatrick, Kate

            • RRP: $54.50
            • $43.60
            • Save $10.90
            • Internationally sourced

            `One is not born, but rather becomes, a woman', wrote Simone de Beauvoir. This is a woman who was also to become a philosopher, a novelist, an existentialist, and a feminist icon. Her novels won prestigious literary prizes and The Second Sex transformed the way we think about sex... and gender. She was also the long-term lover of Jean-Paul Sartre, but it was to film-maker Claude Lanzmann that she wrote `You are my destiny, my eternity, my life ...' in letters which only came to light in 2018. Kate Kirkpatrick draws on previously unavailable diaries and letters, including those written to Lanzmann. The new personal details about her life revealed for the first time by the book can only deepen the mystery and our fascination with her. Why did this `feminist icon' edit her image so much? Why did she lie about her relationship with Sartre so often, or claim not to be a philosopher? Perhaps with so much that's new here we'll get a little closer to understanding who Beauvoir really was.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781350047174
            Released AU 22 Aug 2019
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Making of Poetry: Coleridge, the Wordsworths and Their Year of Marvels

            The Making of Poetry: Coleridge, the Wordsworths and Their Year of Marvels (Hardback)

            By Nicolson, Adam

            • RRP: $54.99
            • $41.24
            • Save $13.75
            • Temporarily out of stock

            Wordsworth and Coleridge as you've never seen them before in this new book by Adam Nicolson, brimming with poetry, art and nature writing. Proof that poetry can change the world.

            ISBN 9780008126476
            Released AU 2 Jul 2019
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me

            Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me (Hardback)

            By Clanchy, Kate

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A candid, revelatory and deeply moving insight into life in British state schools. Full of stories that are funny and sad, heartbreaking and uplifting, Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me is about what we teach our children and what they teach us in return.

            ISBN 9781509840298
            Released AU 9 Apr 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Freak Kingdom: Hunter S. Thompson's Manic Ten-Year Crusade Against American Fascism

            Freak Kingdom: Hunter S. Thompson's Manic Ten-Year Crusade Against American Fascism (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Denevi, Timothy

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $2.50
            • To Order

            How the gonzo literary journalist became a crusader against Richard Nixon and the threat of fascism in America--and the devastating price his work exacted on his life, his health and his career

            ISBN 9781541768017
            Released AU 12 Nov 2019
            Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            My Bondage and My Freedom
             

            My Bondage and My Freedom (Paperback)

            By Douglass, Frederick; Edited by Bernier, Celeste-Marie

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $16.19
            • Save $1.80
            • Pub Date
              12 Dec 19

            My Bondage and My Freedom is the second of Frederick Douglass's full-length autobiographies. An important slave autobiography, it is significant both for what it tells us about slave life and about its author.

            ISBN 9780198820710
            Released AU 12 Dec 2019
            Publisher Oxford University Press (S1)
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Oxford World's Classics
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Will

            Will (Hardback)

            By Self, Will

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • To Order

            This is the inimitable Will Self, with all his signature wit and perspicacity, recounting a formative part of his life. 'Self has achieved the status of a true classic' Prospect

            ISBN 9780670918614
            Released AU 7 Nov 2019
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Book of Awesome Women Writers: Medieval Mystics, Pioneering Poets, Fierce Feminists and First Ladies of Literature

            Book of Awesome Women Writers: Medieval Mystics, Pioneering Poets, Fierce Feminists and First Ladies of Literature (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Anderson, Becca

            • RRP: $27.99
            • $27.99
            • Pre Release Local

            Becca Anderson, author of the bestseller, The Book of Awesome Women, has gathered the most revered and radical women writers of history. Beginning with the first recorded writer of either gender and ending with acclaimed authors of today, including Toni Morrison and J.K. Rowling,... this is a must-read for those who must read.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781642501223
            Released AU 1 Dec 2019
            Publisher Mango Media
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Constellations: Reflections From Life

            Constellations: Reflections From Life (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gleeson, Sinead

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $26.39
            • Save $6.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            An extraordinarily intimate memoir in a series of bodily encounters that have made Sinead Gleeson the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of THE LAST ACT OF LOVE and I AM, I AM, I AM.

            ISBN 9781509892754
            Released AU 9 Apr 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 914 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›