Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Biography & Autobiography: Literary

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 974 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            In Love with George Eliot
             

            In Love with George Eliot (Hardback)

            By O'Shaughnessy, Kathy

            • RRP: $48.99
            • $39.19
            • Save $9.80
            • In Stock UK

            Who was the real George Eliot? In Love with George Eliot is a glorious debut novel which tells the compelling story of England's greatest woman novelist as you've never read it before. Marian Evans is a scandalous figure, living in sin with a married man, George Henry Lewes. She ...has shocked polite society, and women rarely deign to visit her. In secret, though, she has begun writing fiction under the pseudonym George Eliot. As Adam Bede's fame grows, curiosity rises as to the identity of its mysterious writer. Gradually it becomes apparent that the moral genius Eliot is none other than the disgraced woman living with Lewes. Now Evans' tremendous celebrity begins. The world falls in love with her. She is the wise and great writer, sent to guide people through the increasingly secular, rudderless century, and an icon to her progressive feminist peers - with whom she is often in disagreement. Public opinion shifts. Her scandalous cohabitation is forgiven. But this idyll is not secure and cannot last. When Lewes dies, Evans finds herself in danger of shocking the world all over again. Meanwhile, in another rudderless century, two women compete to arrive at an interpretation of Eliot as writer and as woman ... Everyone who has thrilled at being shown the world anew by George Eliot will thrill again at her presence, complex and compelling, here.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781912854042
            Released AU 1 Nov 2019
            Publisher Scribe Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Native Son: The Writer's Memoir
             

            Native Son: The Writer's Memoir (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Ihimaera, Witi

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $26.24
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            "This is the second volume of memoir by this remarkable Maori writer and of the living myths that inspired him at the begining of his career"--Publisher information.

            ISBN 9780143773030
            Published AU 3 Sep 2019
            Publisher Random House
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            How We Fight for Our Lives: A Memoir

            How We Fight for Our Lives: A Memoir (Hardback)

            By Jones, Saeed

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • To Order

            Written from the crossroads of sex, race, and power in America, How We Fight for Our Lives is a stunning coming-of-age memoir and a haunting reflection of the nation as a whole --

            ISBN 9781501132735
            Released AU 1 Nov 2019
            Publisher Simon & Schuster
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Constellations: Reflections From Life

            Constellations: Reflections From Life (Hardback)

            By Gleeson, Sinead

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            An extraordinarily intimate memoir in a series of bodily encounters that have made Sinead Gleeson the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of The Last Act of Love and I Am, I Am, I Am.

            ISBN 9781509892730
            Released AU 18 Apr 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Mutual Admiration Society: How Dorothy L. Sayers and Her Oxford Circle Remade the World For Women

            Mutual Admiration Society: How Dorothy L. Sayers and Her Oxford Circle Remade the World For Women (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Moulton, Mo

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pre Release Local

            In Mutual Admiration Society Royal Historical Society fellow Mo Moulton relates the remarkable friendship of renowned crime novelist Dorothy L. Sayers and five other women at the vanguard of equal rights, who were among the first to receive full degrees from Oxford University.

            ISBN 9781472154446
            Released AU 12 Nov 2019
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Constellations: Reflections From Life

            Constellations: Reflections From Life (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gleeson, Sinead

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $26.39
            • Save $6.60
            • Temporarily out of stock

            An extraordinarily intimate memoir in a series of bodily encounters that have made Sinead Gleeson the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of THE LAST ACT OF LOVE and I AM, I AM, I AM.

            ISBN 9781509892754
            Released AU 9 Apr 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Freak Kingdom: Hunter S. Thompson's Manic Ten-Year Crusade Against American Fascism

            Freak Kingdom: Hunter S. Thompson's Manic Ten-Year Crusade Against American Fascism (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Denevi, Timothy

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $2.50
            • Pre Release Local

            How the gonzo literary journalist became a crusader against Richard Nixon and the threat of fascism in America--and the devastating price his work exacted on his life, his health and his career

            ISBN 9781541768017
            Released AU 12 Nov 2019
            Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Reporter: A Memoir
             

            Reporter: A Memoir (Paperback)

            By Hersh, Seymour M.

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • Pub Date
              19 Nov 19

            Seymour Hersh's fearless reporting has earned him fame, front-page bylines in virtually every major newspaper in the English-speaking world, honours galore, and no small amount of controversy. In this memoir he describes what drove him and how, even when working for some of the U...S's most prestigious publications, he worked as an independent outsider. Here, he tells the stories behind his own groundbreaking stories as he chases leads, cultivates sources, and grapples with the weight of what he uncovers, daring to challenge official narratives handed down from the powers that be. In telling these stories, Hersh divulges previously unreported information about some of his biggest scoops, including the My Lai massacre and the horrors at Abu Ghraib. This is essential reading on the power of the printed word at a time when good journalism is under fire as never before.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780141989099
            Released AU 19 Nov 2019
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Will
             

            Will (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Self, Will

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • Pub Date
              19 Nov 19

            'Self is the most daring and delightful novelist of his generation' Guardian ________________________________ Will's mother's hokey homily, Waste not, want not... hisses in his ears as he oscillates furiously on the spot, havering on the threshold between the bedroom and the dyin...g one... all the while cradling the plastic leech of the syringe in the crook of his arm. Oscillating furiously, and, as he'd presses the plunger home a touch more... and more, he hears it again and again: Waaaste nooot, waaant nooot..! whooshing into and out of him, while the blackness wells up at the periphery of his vision, and his hackneyed heart begins to beat out weirdly arrhythmic drum fills - even hitting the occasional rim-shot on his resonating rib cage. He waits, paralysed, acutely conscious, that were he simply to press his thumb right home, it'll be a cartoonish death: That's all folks! as the aperture screws shut forever.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780670918621
            Released AU 19 Nov 2019
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Tell Me A Story: My Life with Pat Conroy

            Tell Me A Story: My Life with Pat Conroy (Hardback)

            By Conroy, Cassandra King

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • To Order

            The author considers her life and the man she shared it with, paying tribute to her husband, Pat Conroy, the legendary figure of modern Southern literature. She was leading a quiet life as a professor, divorced Sunday wife of a preacher, and debut novelist when she met Pat Conroy.... Their union would last 18 years until his death from pancreatic cancer in 2016.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780062905628
            Released AU 21 Oct 2019
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 974 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›