Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Biography & Autobiography: General

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 20.2K jump to: go ‹ previous...34567...next ›
            The Meaning of Mariah Carey
             

            The Meaning of Mariah Carey (Hardback)

            By Carey, Mariah

            • RRP: $44.99
            • $35.99
            • Save $9.00
            • Pub Date
              29 Dec 20

            A fascinating and timely new book.

            ISBN 9781529038958
            Released AU 29 Dec 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Like Crazy: Life with My Mother and Her Invisible Friends
             

            Like Crazy: Life with My Mother and Her Invisible Friends (Hardback)

            By Mathews, Dan

            • RRP: $50.99
            • $44.35
            • Save $6.64
            • Internationally sourced

            In the tradition of The End of Your Life Book Club and Bettyville, this uplifting, funny, and heartbreaking memoir about a mother and son on a journey of self-discovery and the rag-tag community that rallied together to support the most unconventional of mothers as she entered th...e last phase of her life. Dan Mathews knew that his eccentric mother, Perry Lawrence, was outspoken, foul-mouthed, and, at seventy-nine years old, unable to maintain her fiercely independent lifestyle--so he flew her across the country (with a gay man as her escort) to live with him in a dilapidated Victorian townhouse in Portsmouth, Virginia. What he didn't know was that she was schizophrenic. Over the next five years, Dan and Perry built a rollicking life together fueled by costume parties, experiments in drug use, and an unshakeable sense of humor as they faced down illness, natural disasters, and Perry's steady decline. With the help of an ever-expanding circle of friends--boyfriends new and old, strippers, DJs, gun nuts, Evangelical Christians, and everyone in between--they flipped the parent-child relationship on its head, with the globe-trotting animal rights activist finally learning to slow down and care for the woman who raised him. But it wasn't until after a kicking-and-screaming trip to the emergency room that Dan discovered that his mother's lifelong tendency to go it alone wasn't just a manifestation of her free spirit but was actually the inescapable element of a serious and undiagnosed disorder. Witty, emotionally powerful, and deeply moving, Like Crazy is a warm and engrossing memoir about mental illness, reinvention, and the remarkable power of community. Lovingly told, Mathews's memoir is also a profound meditation on the joys and pitfalls of caring for an aging family member and of the remarkable growth that takes place as a child steps into the role of the parent.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781501199981
            Released AU 2 Sep 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Book of Rosy: A Mother's Story of Separation at the Border
             

            The Book of Rosy: A Mother's Story of Separation at the Border (Hardback)

            By Pablo Cruz, Rosayra; Collazo, Julie Schwietert

            • RRP: $57.99
            • $44.34
            • Save $13.65
            • Internationally sourced

            From a mother whose children were taken from her at the U.S. border by the American government in 2018 and another mother who helped reunite the family, a crucial, searing story about the immigration odyssey, family separation and reunification, and the power of individuals to ba...nd together to overcome even the most cruel and unjust circumstances --
            Read more

            ISBN 9780062941923
            Released AU 1 Oct 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Big Friendship: How We Keep Each Other Close

            Big Friendship: How We Keep Each Other Close (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Digital original)

            By Sow, Aminatou; Friedman, Ann

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A funny, frank and genuinely helpful book about female friendship by the two women behind the hugely successful podcast Call Your Girlfriend - and the term 'shine theory'.

            ISBN 9780349013022
            Released AU 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Zero Negativity: The Power of Positive Thinking

            Zero Negativity: The Power of Positive Thinking (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Middleton, Ant

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $26.24
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            PRE-ORDER NOW

            ISBN 9780008336523
            Released AU 2 Sep 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Loved and Wanted: A Memoir of Choice, Children, and Womanhood
             

            Loved and Wanted: A Memoir of Choice, Children, and Womanhood (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Parravani, Christa

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $23.99
            • Save $6.00
            • Pub Date
              1 Dec 20

            In 2017 Christa Parravani had recently moved her family from California to West Virginia and was surviving on a teacher's salary and raising two young children with her husband, screenwriter Anthony Swafford.

            ISBN 9781786580559
            Released AU 1 Dec 2020
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            We Carry Kevan: Six Friends. Three Countries. No Wheelchair.

            We Carry Kevan: Six Friends. Three Countries. No Wheelchair. (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Chandler, Kevan

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • To Order

            A story about friendships and commitment to one another so incredible you wouldn't believe it if it wasn't true. Born with a rare disease, Kevan is dependent upon others for all his physical needs. When his creative friends devise a human back-pack, they leave Kevan's wheelchair ...behind and set out on the journey of a lifetime.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781546014744
            Released AU 30 Jun 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Frank and Fearless: A Life in Boxing
             

            Frank and Fearless: A Life in Boxing (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Warren, Frank

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pub Date
              12 Jan 21

            The story of legendary Hall of Fame boxing promoter and manager Frank Warren . . . and of all the greats he has worked with, from Bruno, to Benn, to Tyson.

            ISBN 9781472126511
            Released AU 12 Jan 2021
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Dream Architects: Adventures in the Video Game Industry
             

            The Dream Architects: Adventures in the Video Game Industry (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Polfeldt, David

            • RRP: $27.99
            • $20.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              29 Dec 20

            The inside story of the booming video game industry from the late 1990s to the present, as told by the Managing Director of Ubisoft's Massive Entertainment (The Division, Far Cry 3, Assassin's Creed: Revelations).

            ISBN 9781538754184
            Released AU 29 Dec 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            This is Big: How the Founder of Weight Watchers Changed the World (and Me)

            This is Big: How the Founder of Weight Watchers Changed the World (and Me) (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Meltzer, Marisa

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • To Order/ Indent titles

            Marisa Meltzer was put on her first diet aged five: the beginning of a fraught relationship with food. Taking everything she learned from this experience, in 1963 she founded Weight Watchers, a company that has shaped decades of diet culture.

            ISBN 9781784742409
            Released AU 14 May 2020
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            Total 20.2K jump to: go ‹ previous...34567...next ›