Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 357 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World

            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Clode, Danielle

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A voyage of discovery, nature and untold histories - in the vein of Clare Wright, Edmund de Waal and Helen Macdonald.

            ISBN 9781760784959
            Published AU 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Disappearing Act
             

            The Disappearing Act (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By de Changy, Florence

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $26.24
            • Save $8.75
            • Pub Date
              3 Feb 21

            The affair was weird when seen from afar, but seen in close-up, it was Kafkaesque: it was not possible in 2014 for a Boeing 777 to have simply disappeared...

            ISBN 9780008381547
            Released AU 3 Feb 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler

            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler (Hardback)

            By O'Donnell, Svenja

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • To Order

            What does it mean to be on the wrong side of history? But when Svenja impulsively visits this windswept Baltic city, something unlocks in Inge and, finally, she begins to tell her story.

            ISBN 9781529105452
            Released AU 11 Sep 2020
            Publisher Ebury Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Delayed Release

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169328
            Released AU 1 Dec 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
            View details for this title
            Targeted: My Inside Story of Cambridge Analytica and How Trump, Brexit and Facebook Broke Democracy
             

            Targeted: My Inside Story of Cambridge Analytica and How Trump, Brexit and Facebook Broke Democracy (Paperback)

            By Kaiser

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • Pub Date
              1 Feb 21

            In this explosive memoir, a political consultant and technology whistleblower reveals the disturbing truth about the multi-billion-dollar data industry, revealing to the public how companies are getting richer using our personal information and exposing how Cambridge Analytica ex...ploited weaknesses in privacy laws to help elect Donald Trump. When Brittany Kaiser joined Cambridge Analytica - the UK-based political consulting firm funded by conservative billionaire and Donald Trump patron Robert Mercer - she was an idealistic young professional working on her fourth degree in human rights law and international relations. A veteran of Barack Obama's 2008 campaign, Kaiser's goal was to utilize data for humanitarian purposes, most notably to prevent genocide and human rights abuses. But her experience inside Cambridge Analytica opened her eyes to the tremendous risks that this unregulated industry poses to privacy and democracy. Targeted is Kaiser's eyewitness chronicle of the dramatic and disturbing story of the rise and fall of Cambridge Analytica. She reveals to the public how Facebook's lax policies and lack of sufficient national laws allowed voters to be manipulated in both Britain and the United States, where personal data was weaponised to spread fake news and racist messaging during the Brexit vote and the 2016 election. But the damage isn't done Kaiser warns; the 2020 election can be compromised as well if we continue to do nothing. In the aftermath of the U.S. election, as she became aware of the horrifying reality of what Cambridge Analytica had done in support of Donald Trump, Kaiser made the difficult choice to expose the truth. Risking her career, relationships, and personal safety, she told authorities about the data industry's unethical business practices, eventually testifying before Parliament. Packed with never-before-publicly-told stories, Targeted goes inside the secretive meetings with Trump campaign personnel and details the promises Cambridge Anal
            Read more

            ISBN 9780008363932
            Released AU 1 Feb 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb

            The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb (Paperback)

            By Kean, Sam

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean tells the incredible story of how a renegade group of spies kept Hitler from obtaining his ultimate prize: a nuclear bomb.

            ISBN 9781529374889
            Released AU 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            It Takes Two: A History of the Couples Who Dared to be Different
             

            It Takes Two: A History of the Couples Who Dared to be Different (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Newman, Cathy

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $26.24
            • Save $8.75
            • Pub Date
              6 Jan 21

            They say two heads are better than one - but who are the great dynamic duos of history?

            ISBN 9780008363345
            Released AU 6 Jan 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Stasiland

            Stasiland (Paperback)

            By Funder, Anna

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Winner of the BBC Four Samuel Johnson Prize Truth can be stranger - and more heartbreaking and hilarious - than fiction. In this now classic work, Funder tells extraordinary stories from the most perfected surveillance state of all time, the former East Germany. She meets Miriam,... condemned as an enemy of the state at sixteen, and Frau Paul, for whom the Berlin Wall 'went through my heart'. She drinks with the legendary 'Mik Jegger' of the East, once declared by the authorities to 'no longer exist'. And she meets ex-Stasi - men who spied on their families and friends - still loyal to the deposed regime as they await the next revolution. Stasiland is a brilliant, timeless portrait of a Kafkaesque world as gripping as any thriller. In a world of total surveillance, its celebration of human conscience and courage is as potent as ever.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143792529
            Published AU 27 Jun 2018
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            1788

            1788 (Paperback, 2nd edition)

            By Tench, Watkin; Edited by Flannery, Tim

            • RRP: $25.99
            • $20.79
            • Save $5.20
            • Temporarily out of stock

            This popular ediion of Tench's two books, include A Narrative of the Expedition to Botany Bay and An Account of the Settlement at Port Jackson. 1788 is without a doubt the most detailed and comprehensive account of the first years of British settlement.

            ISBN 9781921520044
            Published AU 5 Jan 2009
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Diamonds and Stones in an Era of Gold
             

            Diamonds and Stones in an Era of Gold (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Collopy, Dr. Brian

            • RRP: $41.50
            • $41.50
            • Available At Publisher

            The story is set in 19th century Melbourne. Dr James Beaney, a controversial surgeon, who amassed a fortune from his practice, is tried in a high profile court case following the death of a patient he had operated on for a large bladder stone and is defended by James Purves, the ...brilliant young barrister.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781925231656
            Published AU 10 Mar 2018
            Publisher Interactive Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available at publisher; allow 3-6 weeks delivery due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            Total 357 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›