Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 498 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late

            Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late (Hardback)

            By Malarkey, Tucker

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • To Order

            Salmon, one of the most determined, single-minded creatures on earth, have for hundreds of thousands of years succeeded in returning from the sea to their birth rivers to spawn - no matter the conditions or obstacles. But in recent years increasingly fewer are returning due to st...eady incursions into their habitat from dams, industry, and climate change. The salmon of the Pacific Rim are set for near extinction, just like the salmon that once filled the Atlantic Ocean. An improbable and inspiring story, Stronghold takes the reader on a wild and at times dangerous adventure as we follow Guido from Oregon to Alaska to one of the world's last remaining salmon strongholds, in the Russian Far East - a landscape of ecological richness and diversity that is rapidly being developed for oil, gas, minerals, and timber. As Guido befriends and navigates scientists, conservationists, corrupt officials, Russian oligarchs, unexpected allies, and impenetrable bureaucracies, he reveals the astonishing natural history of the endangered salmon, a species whose demise will reverberate across the planet. And he sets into motion a plan that can secure their survival.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781780724010
            Released AU 3 Dec 2019
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Impossible First: From Fire to Ice-Crossing Antarctica Alone
             

            The Impossible First: From Fire to Ice-Crossing Antarctica Alone (Hardback)

            By O'Brady, Colin

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $33.75
            • Save $11.25
            • Pub Date
              1 Mar 20

            Colin O'Brady's awe-inspiring memoir spans his triumphant recovery from a tragic accident to his gripping 932-mile solo crossing of Antarctica.

            ISBN 9781982133115
            Released AU 1 Mar 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Captain Cook
              

            Captain Cook (Paperback)

            By MacLean, Alistair

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Pub Date
              24 Feb 20

            On the 250th anniversary of Captain Cook's successful navigation to the coast of Australia, this is Alistair MacLean's absorbing story of one of Britain's great national heroes, from his obscure beginnings to his sudden and violent death at the age of fifty-one.

            ISBN 9780007371983
            Released AU 24 Feb 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Delayed Release

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169328
            Released AU 1 Dec 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
            View details for this title
            Hold On, Edna!
              

            Hold On, Edna! (Hardback)

            By Thomas, Aneira

            • RRP: $38.50
            • $38.50
            • Pub Date
              12 Mar 20

            THE TRUE STORY OF THE FIRST NHS BABY Hold On, Edna! is a nostalgic tale of community spirit, hardship and family ties, culminating in the greatest change to ordinary working families in modern history.

            ISBN 9781912624836
            Released AU 12 Mar 2020
            Publisher Mirror Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 12 Mar 2020
            View details for this title
            Her Kind
              

            Her Kind (Paperback)

            By Boyce, Niamh

            • RRP: $27.50
            • $22.00
            • Save $5.50
            • Pub Date
              27 Feb 20

            1324, Kilkennie A woman seeks refuge for herself and her daughter in the household of a childhood friend. The friend, Alice Kytler, gives her former companion a new name, Petronelle, a job as a servant, and warns her to hide their old connection. Before long Petronelle comes to u...nderstand that in the city pride, greed and envy are as dangerous as the wolves that prowl the savage countryside. And she realizes that Alice's household is no place of safety. Once again, Petronelle decides to flee. But this time she confronts forces greater than she could ever have imagined and she finds herself fighting for more than her freedom ... Tense, moving and atmospheric, Her Kind is a vivid re-imagining of the events leading up to the Kilkenny Witch Trial.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241983232
            Released AU 27 Feb 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 27 Feb 2020
            View details for this title
            Zealandia: the Valley That Changed a Nation
             

            Zealandia: the Valley That Changed a Nation (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Lynch, Jim

            • RRP: $46.99
            • $46.99
            • Available

            The author's account of how Zealandia, Wellington's world first pest free fenced eco-sanctuary, went from idea to reality and changed a city and a nation. An uplifting story of daring innovation, and the determination of a community that built a world famous conservation jewel.

            ISBN 9780473490119
            Published AU 24 Sep 2019
            Publisher Misc - South Pacific Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available from publisher, allow 2-4 weeks for delivery
            View details for this title
            The Hunt for Mh370

            The Hunt for Mh370 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Higgins, Ean

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $26.39
            • Save $6.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The extraordinary inside story of the mystery, cover-up and truth behind the 2014 disappearance of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 with 239 souls on board.

            ISBN 9781760783068
            Published AU 26 Feb 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Stasiland

            Stasiland (Paperback)

            By Funder, Anna

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Winner of the BBC Four Samuel Johnson Prize Truth can be stranger - and more heartbreaking and hilarious - than fiction. In this now classic work, Funder tells extraordinary stories from the most perfected surveillance state of all time, the former East Germany. She meets Miriam,... condemned as an enemy of the state at sixteen, and Frau Paul, for whom the Berlin Wall 'went through my heart'. She drinks with the legendary 'Mik Jegger' of the East, once declared by the authorities to 'no longer exist'. And she meets ex-Stasi - men who spied on their families and friends - still loyal to the deposed regime as they await the next revolution. Stasiland is a brilliant, timeless portrait of a Kafkaesque world as gripping as any thriller. In a world of total surveillance, its celebration of human conscience and courage is as potent as ever.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143792529
            Published AU 27 Jun 2018
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Bypass: The Story of a Road

            Bypass: The Story of a Road (Paperback, New title)

            By McGirr, Michael

            Flabby, unfit and forty, Michael McGirr decided to ride a pushbike from one end of the Hume Highway to the other. On the slow ride to Melbourne Michael was overtaken by a strange cast of fellow travellers. He also had the chance to ponder Australia's major thoroughfare.

            ISBN 9780330421904
            Published AU 1 Aug 2005
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
            View details for this title
            Total 498 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›