Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 477 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Hunt for Mh370

            The Hunt for Mh370 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Higgins, Ean

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $26.39
            • Save $6.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The extraordinary inside story of the mystery, cover-up and truth behind the 2014 disappearance of Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 with 239 souls on board.

            ISBN 9781760783068
            Published AU 26 Feb 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Two Sisters

            Two Sisters (Paperback)

            By Seierstad, Asne

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In October 2013 two teenage sisters left Oslo for Syria. A powerful and gripping true account of a family torn apart - by the author of the international bestseller THE BOOKSELLER OF KABUL.

            ISBN 9780349009063
            Released AU 9 Apr 2019
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late

            Stronghold: One man's quest to save the world's wild salmon - before it's too late (Hardback)

            By Malarkey, Tucker

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • To Order

            Salmon, one of the most determined, single-minded creatures on earth, have for hundreds of thousands of years succeeded in returning from the sea to their birth rivers to spawn - no matter the conditions or obstacles. But in recent years increasingly fewer are returning due to st...eady incursions into their habitat from dams, industry, and climate change. The salmon of the Pacific Rim are set for near extinction, just like the salmon that once filled the Atlantic Ocean. An improbable and inspiring story, Stronghold takes the reader on a wild and at times dangerous adventure as we follow Guido from Oregon to Alaska to one of the world's last remaining salmon strongholds, in the Russian Far East - a landscape of ecological richness and diversity that is rapidly being developed for oil, gas, minerals, and timber. As Guido befriends and navigates scientists, conservationists, corrupt officials, Russian oligarchs, unexpected allies, and impenetrable bureaucracies, he reveals the astonishing natural history of the endangered salmon, a species whose demise will reverberate across the planet. And he sets into motion a plan that can secure their survival.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781780724010
            Released AU 3 Dec 2019
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Her Kind
             

            Her Kind (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Boyce, Niamh

            • RRP: $38.50
            • $30.80
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock UK

            1324, Kilkennie A woman seeks refuge for herself and her daughter in the household of a childhood friend. The friend, Alice Kytler, gives her former companion a new name, Petronelle, a job as a servant, and warns her to never reveal their old connection. As the city's moneylender... and the country's wealthiest woman Alice is feted but also envied, especially by Kilkennie's bishop, Richard Ledrede. Determined that no one, least of all a woman, will defy the church's power he turns the people against Alice and her household. While the tumult rages outside Petronelle tries to understand what her mistress has had to do to become so rich and powerful. On making a devastating discovery, she decides to flee with her daughter, freeing them both from their troubled past and the terrifying present. But in trying to escape Kilkennie Petronelle, confronts forces greater than she could ever have imagined and finds herself fighting for more than her freedom ... Inspired by a true story, Her Kind is a tense, moving and atmospheric reimagining of the events leading up to the Kilkenny Witch Trial of 1324.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781844884339
            Released AU 4 Apr 2019
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
             

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Paperback)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • Internationally sourced

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169342
            Released AU 1 Dec 2019
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            I You We Them: Journeys Beyond Evil: The Desk Killer in History and Today

            I You We Them: Journeys Beyond Evil: The Desk Killer in History and Today (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gretton, Dan

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A landmark historical investigation into crimes against humanity and the nature of evil that is over two decades in the making.

            ISBN 9781785152276
            Released AU 19 Nov 2019
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Captain Cook
              

            Captain Cook (Paperback)

            By MacLean, Alistair

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Pub Date
              24 Feb 20

            On the 250th anniversary of Captain Cook's successful navigation to the coast of Australia, this is Alistair MacLean's absorbing story of one of Britain's great national heroes, from his obscure beginnings to his sudden and violent death at the age of fifty-one.

            ISBN 9780007371983
            Released AU 24 Feb 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            I You We Them: Journeys Beyond Evil: The Desk Killer in History and Today

            I You We Them: Journeys Beyond Evil: The Desk Killer in History and Today (Hardback)

            By Gretton, Dan

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • To Order

            A landmark historical investigation into crimes against humanity and the nature of evil that is over two decades in the making.

            ISBN 9780434023479
            Released AU 14 Nov 2019
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Stasiland

            Stasiland (Paperback)

            By Funder, Anna

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Winner of the BBC Four Samuel Johnson Prize Truth can be stranger - and more heartbreaking and hilarious - than fiction. In this now classic work, Funder tells extraordinary stories from the most perfected surveillance state of all time, the former East Germany. She meets Miriam,... condemned as an enemy of the state at sixteen, and Frau Paul, for whom the Berlin Wall 'went through my heart'. She drinks with the legendary 'Mik Jegger' of the East, once declared by the authorities to 'no longer exist'. And she meets ex-Stasi - men who spied on their families and friends - still loyal to the deposed regime as they await the next revolution. Stasiland is a brilliant, timeless portrait of a Kafkaesque world as gripping as any thriller. In a world of total surveillance, its celebration of human conscience and courage is as potent as ever.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143792529
            Published AU 27 Jun 2018
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Bypass: The Story of a Road

            Bypass: The Story of a Road (Paperback, New title)

            By McGirr, Michael

            Flabby, unfit and forty, Michael McGirr decided to ride a pushbike from one end of the Hume Highway to the other. On the slow ride to Melbourne Michael was overtaken by a strange cast of fellow travellers. He also had the chance to ponder Australia's major thoroughfare.

            ISBN 9780330421904
            Published AU 1 Aug 2005
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
            View details for this title
            Total 477 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›