Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 320 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World
             

            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Clode, Danielle

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              29 Sep 20

            A voyage of discovery, nature and untold histories - in the vein of Clare Wright, Edmund de Waal and Helen Macdonald.

            ISBN 9781760784959
            Published AU 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Delayed Release

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169328
            Released AU 1 Dec 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
            View details for this title
            The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb
             

            The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb (Paperback)

            By Kean, Sam

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • Pub Date
              29 Sep 20

            New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean tells the incredible story of how a renegade group of spies kept Hitler from obtaining his ultimate prize: a nuclear bomb.

            ISBN 9781529374889
            Released AU 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler
             

            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler (Hardback)

            By O'Donnell, Svenja

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock UK

            What does it mean to be on the wrong side of history? But when Svenja impulsively visits this windswept Baltic city, something unlocks in Inge and, finally, she begins to tell her story.

            ISBN 9781529105452
            Released AU 6 Aug 2020
            Publisher Ebury Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Weather Experiment: The Pioneers who Sought to see the Future
             

            The Weather Experiment: The Pioneers who Sought to see the Future (Paperback)

            By Moore, Peter

            • Imp. $37.50
            • $30.00
            • Save $7.50
            • No availability locally

            In 1865 a broken Admiral Robert FitzRoy locked himself in his dressing room and cut his throat. His grand meteorological project had failed. Yet only a decade later, FitzRoy's storm-warning system and 'forecasts' would return. This book deals with his life and work.

            ISBN 9780099581673
            Released AU 15 May 2016
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Hold On Edna!: The heartwarming true story of the first baby born on the NHS
              

            Hold On Edna!: The heartwarming true story of the first baby born on the NHS (Paperback)

            By Thomas, Aneira

            • RRP: $26.50
            • $26.50
            • Pub Date
              3 Sep 20

            The true story of the first NHS baby. Hold On Edna! is a nostalgic tale of community spirit, hardship and family ties, culminating in the greatest change to ordinary working families in modern history.

            ISBN 9781913406318
            Released AU 3 Sep 2020
            Publisher Mirror Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 3 Sep 2020
            View details for this title
            The Death Ray Debacle: A Novel of the 1935 Kiwi Invention Spies Tried to Steal
             

            The Death Ray Debacle: A Novel of the 1935 Kiwi Invention Spies Tried to Steal (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By McGill, David

            • RRP: $30.99
            • $30.99
            • Available At Publisher

            "In June 1935 Takapuna inventor Victor Penny was attacked by foreign agents seeking what the newspapers dubbed a 'death ray'. The government secretly shifted him to Somes Island in Wellington harbour to develop the weapon. The novel of this true story is told by Temporary Acting ...Detective Dan Delaney, seconded to Special Branch, forerunner of the Security Intelligence Service. Special Branch is monitoring the German Club in Auckland, an increasingly shrill supporter of the Nazi regime. The unconventional Auckland theatrical scene has made sensational headlines with the alleged murder of his wife by impresario Eric Mareo, his accuser the bisexual dancer Freda Stark, lover of his deceased partner. A mysterious German/Jewish refugee has been involved in both the German Club and this Bohemian scene, making her a person of interest to the young detective and a recently arrived German diplomat. The detective and a helpful Scotland Yard adviser pursue and are pursued by spies determined to steal Penny's blueprint. Round-the-clock protection is provided for Penny by armed soldiers on the supposedly secure Somes Island government facility, used to imprison enemy aliens in the Great War. Corruption on the island is uncovered by the detectives as they face lethal force to acquire an invention all major countries are actively chasing"--Back ciover.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780992262228
            Published AU 2 Oct 2015
            Publisher Silver Owl Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Stasiland

            Stasiland (Paperback)

            By Funder, Anna

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Winner of the BBC Four Samuel Johnson Prize Truth can be stranger - and more heartbreaking and hilarious - than fiction. In this now classic work, Funder tells extraordinary stories from the most perfected surveillance state of all time, the former East Germany. She meets Miriam,... condemned as an enemy of the state at sixteen, and Frau Paul, for whom the Berlin Wall 'went through my heart'. She drinks with the legendary 'Mik Jegger' of the East, once declared by the authorities to 'no longer exist'. And she meets ex-Stasi - men who spied on their families and friends - still loyal to the deposed regime as they await the next revolution. Stasiland is a brilliant, timeless portrait of a Kafkaesque world as gripping as any thriller. In a world of total surveillance, its celebration of human conscience and courage is as potent as ever.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143792529
            Published AU 27 Jun 2018
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            1788

            1788 (Paperback, 2nd edition)

            By Tench, Watkin; Edited by Flannery, Tim

            • RRP: $25.99
            • $20.79
            • Save $5.20
            • Temporarily out of stock

            This popular ediion of Tench's two books, include A Narrative of the Expedition to Botany Bay and An Account of the Settlement at Port Jackson. 1788 is without a doubt the most detailed and comprehensive account of the first years of British settlement.

            ISBN 9781921520044
            Published AU 5 Jan 2009
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            The Best Australian Sea Stories: Our Land is Girt by Sea
             

            The Best Australian Sea Stories: Our Land is Girt by Sea (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Haynes, Jim

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $26.99
            • Save $3.00
            • To Order/ Indent titles

            A dazzling collection of writing about the sea - from first-hand accounts of ocean voyages to stories by Banjo Paterson and Mark Twain - from Australia's most successful Australiana author.

            ISBN 9781742371252
            Published AU 1 Nov 2012
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            Total 320 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›