Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Classic Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 97.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Lord of the Flies: New Educational Edition
             

            Lord of the Flies: New Educational Edition (Paperback, Education Edition)

            By Golding, William

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A teacher himself, the author clearly understood what excites and interests children. This is a story, with strong, sympathetic characters, but it also raises timeless and profound questions. It is a catalyst for discussion and analysis, not only concerning capabilities of humans... for good and evil and the fragility of moral inhibition, but beyond.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780571295715
            Released AU 28 Nov 2013
            Publisher Faber and Faber
            Interest Age 0-0 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Brave New World

            Brave New World (Paperback)

            By Huxley, Aldous; Introduction by Atwood, Margaret

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.24
            • Save $3.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Far in the future, the World Controllers have created the ideal society. Through clever use of genetic engineering, brainwashing and recreational sex and drugs all its members are happy consumers. Bernard Marx seems alone harbouring an ill-defined longing to break free.

            ISBN 9780099518471
            Released AU 1 Jan 2008
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Dickens Boy
             

            The Dickens Boy (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Keneally, Tom

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pub Date
              31 Mar 20

            In this joyful novel, our narrator is Charles Dickens's tenth child, Edward Bulwer Lytton Dickens, known as Plorn. Sent, as his brother Alfred had been before him, at sixteen years of age, to Australia to learn to 'apply himself', we follow his early Australian adventures in outb...ack NSW learning to become a man from the most diverse and toughest of men. Part of Dickens' motivation was to separate these younger of his children from the Dickens family schism, where Charles had expelled his wife from the family home, keeping her sister Georgie there to run the household and taking up with the actress Ellen Tiernan. Plorn arrived in Melbourne in late 1868 carrying a terrible secret. He has never read a word of his father's work. After a very brief stopover he is sent out to become a gentleman stockman on a 2000 square mile station in remotest, semi-arid parts of NSW. Here he inevitably gets enmeshed in a tribe named the Paakintji and various other folk, colonists, colonial-born, ex-convicts, ex-soldiers, and very few women - though he is struck by each one he does encounter. Plorn did not expect he would encounter the same veneration of his father and familiarity with his work in Australia that was rampant in England. Against this backdrop, and featuring cricket tournaments, horse-racing, bushranging, sheep droving, shifty stock and station agents, frontier wars and first encounters with Australian women we follow Plorn, and sometimes his brother Alfred, through wonderful adventures as he works to apply himself. This is Tom Keneally in his most familiar terrain. Taking historical figures and events and reimagining them with verve, compassion and humour. It is a romp.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760893194
            Published AU 31 Mar 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            All the Rage: The new 'impossible to put down' thriller from the Richard and Judy Book Club bestseller 2020
             

            All the Rage: The new 'impossible to put down' thriller from the Richard and Judy Book Club bestseller 2020 (Paperback)

            By Hunter, Cara

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Pub Date
              4 Feb 20

            The first girl came back. The next won't be so lucky.___________________________________ **PRE-ORDER THE NEXT HEART-POUNDING DI DAWLEY NOVEL FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CLOSE TO HOME AND IN THE DARK** 'One of the best crime thrillers I have ever read' Kathryn Crof...t _________________________________ A teenage girl is found wandering the outskirts of Oxford, dazed and distressed. The story she tells is bizarre. Grabbed from off the street, a plastic bag pulled over her face, then driven to an isolated location where she was subjected to what sounds like an assault. And yet she refuses to press charges and claims the whole thing was just an April Fool gone wrong. DI Fawley investigates, but there's little he can do without the girl's co-operation. Is she hiding something, and if so, what? And why does Fawley keep getting the feeling it's related to a case from his past, a case he's spent years trying to forget? And then another girl disappears, and Adam no longer has a choice: he has to face his demons, whatever the cost, professional or personal. Because unless he does, this victim may not be coming back . . . ___________________________________ WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT CARA HUNTER 'Your next riveting, twisty read' Shari Lapena 'A real gripper of a read' Peter James 'Fast paced and a fantastic cast of characters. Kept me guessing to the end - and I loved the final reveal' Fiona Barton 'Cancel everything. You're not going anywhere until you finish reading this' Emily Koch
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241985113
            Released AU 4 Feb 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series DI Fawley
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            True History of the Kelly Gang
             

            True History of the Kelly Gang (Paperback)

            By Carey, Peter

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Pub Date
              3 Mar 20

            As he flees the police, Ned Kelly scribbles his narrative in semiliterate but magically descriptive prose. To his pursuers he is a thief and a murderer. To his own people he's a hero for opposing the English. Ned, who saw his first prison cell at fifteen, has become the most want...ed man in the wild colony of Victoria, taking over towns and defying authority. Here is a classic outlaw tale, made alive by the skill of a great novelist. There are no sentences like these in all Australian literature and yet they could only have grown from our soil.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760896430
            Published AU 3 Mar 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Daughters of Cornwall
             

            Daughters of Cornwall (Hardback)

            By Britton, Fern

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • Pub Date
              24 Feb 20

            The new book from the Sunday Times bestselling author

            ISBN 9780008225254
            Released AU 24 Feb 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Currawalli Street
              

            Currawalli Street (Paperback, Main)

            By Morgan, Christopher

            • Imp. $27.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $6.16
            • Not Available Locally

            We all have secret lives. And we are all pretty good at keeping them secret. With simplicity and great beauty, Currawalli Street reveals the echoes between past and present rebounding through one ordinary street and its families, from the pre-war innocence of 1913 to the painful ...and grim consequences of the Vietnam War.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781742377100
            Published AU 1 Feb 2012
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced on backorder; allow 4-8 weeks
            View details for this title
            In the Crypt with a Candlestick
             

            In the Crypt with a Candlestick (Hardback)

            By Waugh, Daisy

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $33.75
            • Save $11.25
            • Pub Date
              20 Feb 20

            A deliciously witty murder mystery series, perfect for fans of The Seven Death of Evelyn Hardcastle and The Mitford Murders

            ISBN 9780349422466
            Released AU 20 Feb 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Animal Farm: The Graphic Novel

            Animal Farm: The Graphic Novel (Hardback)

            By Orwell, George; Illustrated by Odyr

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            When the downtrodden animals of Manor Farm overthrow their master Mr Jones and take over the farm themselves, they imagine it is the beginning of a life of freedom and equality. But gradually a cunning, ruthless elite, masterminded by the pigs Napoleon and Snowball, starts to tak...e control. Soon the other animals find themselves hopelessly ensnared as one form of tyranny is replaced with another . . .
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241391846
            Released AU 17 Sep 2019
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Hobbit
             

            The Hobbit (Paperback)

            By Tolkien, J. R. R.

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • Internationally sourced

            The Hobbit is the unforgettable story of Bilbo, a peace-loving hobbit, who embarks on a strange and magical adventure. A timeless classic.

            ISBN 9780007458424
            Replacement this title has been replaced by: 9780006754022
            Released AU 11 Jun 2012
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Series Essential Modern Classics
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 97.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›