Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            First World War fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 478 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Cartographer's Secret
             

            The Cartographer's Secret (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Cooper, Tea

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pub Date
              5 Nov 20

            A young woman's quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia's greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerising historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from bestselling author Tea Coo...per for readers of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781489299574
            Published AU 5 Nov 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton

            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton (Hardback, Unabridged edition)

            By Lovell, Posy; Read by Aldington, Annie

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • To Order/ Indent titles

            A wartime saga that highlights the role of women at Kew Gardens, licensed publishing with heritage brand Kew Gardens

            ISBN 9781409193272
            Released AU 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            A Workhouse Christmas: a perfect, heartwarming Christmas saga

            A Workhouse Christmas: a perfect, heartwarming Christmas saga (Hardback)

            By Brellend, Kay

            • RRP: $55.00
            • $41.25
            • Save $13.75
            • Pre Release Local

            A new trilogy from brilliant saga author Kay Brellend, focusing on a group of characters connected to the Whitechapel Union workhouse and their journeys through WW1

            ISBN 9780349425139
            Released AU 27 Oct 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Workhouse to War
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Crofter's Daughter: A heartwarming rural saga

            The Crofter's Daughter: A heartwarming rural saga (Paperback)

            By Ramsay, Eileen

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • To Order

            'When I'm the farmer,' began Mairi, and then she stopped, for she would never be the farmer. Since she was nine Mairi McGloughlin has known she wants to be a farmer, but by the law of the land it's her scholarly brother Ian who will someday inherit.

            ISBN 9781785762284
            Released AU 12 Dec 2019
            Publisher Zaffre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Afterlives
             

            Afterlives (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gurnah, Abdulrazak

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $7.50
            • Pub Date
              5 Jan 21

            'One of Africa's greatest living writers' Giles Foden Erudite, ambitious Ilyas was stolen from his parents by the schutzruppe askari, the Germans' colonial troops; after years at war, he returns to his village to find his parents gone, and his sister Afiya given away. Hamza was n...ot stolen, but was sold; he has come of age in the schutztruppe, at the right hand of an officer whose zeal and control have ensured his protection but marked him for life. He does not have words for how the war ended for him, in a haze of blood. Returning to the village of his childhood, all Hamza wants is work, however humble, and security - and the beautiful Afiya. The century is young, and the blaze of empire burns hot on the east coast of Africa. The Germans and the British and the French and the Belgians and whoever else have may have drawn their maps and signed their treaties, but the embers of revolt are not yet extinguished, and the colonialists' hunger for complete dominion is far from sated. As these interlinked friends and lovers come and go, live and work and fall in love, the shadow of war lengthens and darkens, ready to snatch them up and carry them away. Raw yet rich, sweeping yet intimate, sprawling yet acutely realised, Afterlives is an epic novel about family, love, friendship, displacement empire and war; about the ways that violence defines and undoes us, and the lives that history chooses to forget.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526615862
            Released AU 5 Jan 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            A Workhouse Christmas: a perfect, heartwarming Christmas saga

            A Workhouse Christmas: a perfect, heartwarming Christmas saga (Paperback)

            By Brellend, Kay

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • Pre Release Local

            A new trilogy from brilliant saga author Kay Brellend, focusing on a group of characters connected to the Whitechapel Union workhouse and their journeys through WW1

            ISBN 9780349425122
            Released AU 29 Oct 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Workhouse to War
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Fall of Giants

            Fall of Giants (Paperback, New Edition)

            By Follett, Ken

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            An epic of love, hatred, war and revolution

            ISBN 9781509848515
            Released AU 25 Sep 2018
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Series The Century Trilogy
            Availability
            374 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Major Tom's War
             

            Major Tom's War (Paperback)

            By Walker, Vee

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • Pub Date
              30 Nov 20

            Major Tom's War is a powerful account of the impact of WWI on a doomed generation and on one Indian Army cavalry officer in particular.

            ISBN 9781911271239
            Released AU 30 Nov 2020
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English)
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            When I Come Home Again: A beautiful and heartbreaking WWI novel, based on true events
             

            When I Come Home Again: A beautiful and heartbreaking WWI novel, based on true events (Hardback)

            By Scott, Caroline

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              1 Nov 20

            Based on true events, When I Come Home Again is a deeply moving and powerful story of a nation's outpouring of grief, and the search for hope in the aftermath of the First World War. From the highly acclaimed author of The Photographer of the Lost, a BBC Radio 2 Book Club pick.

            ISBN 9781471192173
            Released AU 1 Nov 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            At Night All Blood Is Black
              

            At Night All Blood Is Black (Hardback)

            By Diop, David; Translated by Moschovakis, Anna

            • RRP: $47.50
            • $41.44
            • Save $6.06
            • Pub Date
              10 Nov 20

            A Sengalese soldier loses his mind in the trenches of World War I --

            ISBN 9780374266974
            Released AU 10 Nov 2020
            Publisher Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 10 Nov 2020
            View details for this title
            Total 478 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›