Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            War Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 16.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Circle of Death: A Strike Back Novel (5)
             

            Circle of Death: A Strike Back Novel (5) (Hardback)

            By Ryan, Chris

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $33.75
            • Save $11.25
            • Pub Date
              19 Mar 20

            The fifth book in the bestselling Strike Back series by SAS hero Chris Ryan.

            ISBN 9781529324853
            Released AU 19 Mar 2020
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            A Long Petal of the Sea
             

            A Long Petal of the Sea (Hardback)

            By Allende, Isabel

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $26.24
            • Save $8.75
            • Pub Date
              21 Jan 20

            That September 2, 1939, the day of the Spanish exiles' splendid arrival in Chile, the Second World War broke out in Europe. Victor Dalmau is a young doctor when he is caught up in the Spanish Civil War, a tragedy that leaves his life - and the fate of his country - forever change...d. Together with his sister-in-law, the pianist Roser Bruguera, he is forced out of his beloved Barcelona and into exile. When opportunity to seek refuge in Chile arises, they take it, boarding a ship chartered by the poet Pablo Neruda to the promised `long petal of sea and wine and snow' over the seas. There, they find themselves enmeshed in a rich web of characters who come together in love and tragedy over the course of four generations, destined to witness the battle between freedom and repression as it plays out across the world. A masterful work of historical fiction about hope, exile and belonging, A Long Petal of the Sea is Isabel Allende at the height of her powers.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526615909
            Released AU 21 Jan 2020
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Special Forces Cadets 3: Justice
             

            Special Forces Cadets 3: Justice (Paperback)

            By Ryan, Chris

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • To Order

            Hundreds of young people are being forced into lives of slavery by an international trafficking ring based in the jungles of central Africa. It will take all their skills to get themselves to safety - and to bring the traffickers to justice.

            ISBN 9781471407840
            Released AU 28 Aug 2019
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series Special Forces Cadets
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Orphan's Gift: An unputdownable Liverpool saga of love and loss

            The Orphan's Gift: An unputdownable Liverpool saga of love and loss (Hardback)

            By Baker, Anne

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • To Order

            Who knows what the future will hold? THE ORPHAN'S GIFT is a poignant and heart-warming Liverpool saga by Anne Baker, not to be missed by fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

            ISBN 9781472264046
            Released AU 12 Dec 2019
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            To the Eastern Seas: Thomas Kydd 22
             

            To the Eastern Seas: Thomas Kydd 22 (Hardback)

            By Stockwin, Julian

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • To Order

            Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: To the Eastern Seas will be the twentieth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.

            ISBN 9781473698680
            Released AU 17 Oct 2019
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Thomas Kydd
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Dreaming the Enemy
             

            Dreaming the Enemy (Paperback)

            By Metzenthen, David

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Two young Vietnam War veterans who fought on opposing sides return home, struggling to recover from their experience. A moving story of trauma, resilience and the challenging road to recovery.

            ISBN 9781760112257
            Published AU 23 Mar 2016
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            All Quiet on the Western Front

            All Quiet on the Western Front (Paperback, New edition)

            By Remarque, Erich Maria; Translated by Murdoch, Brian O.

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In 1914, a room full of German schoolboys, fresh-faced and idealistic, are goaded by their schoolmaster to troop off to the 'glorious war'. With the fire and patriotism of youth, they sign up. What follows is the story of a young 'unknown soldier' experiencing the horror and disi...llusionment of life in the trenches.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780099532811
            Released AU 1 Dec 1995
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Vintage War
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Last Odyssey: A Thriller
             

            The Last Odyssey: A Thriller (Hardback)

            By Rollins, James

            • RRP: $55.00
            • $41.25
            • Save $13.75
            • Pub Date
              23 Mar 20

            To save the world and our future, Sigma Force must embark on a dangerous odyssey into an ancient past whose horrors are all too present in this page-turning thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author James Rollins that combines cutting-edge science, historical mystery, my...thology, and pulse-pounding action. For eons, the city of Troy-whose legendary fall was detailed in Homer's Iliad-was believed to be myth, until archaeologists in the nineteenth century uncovered its ancient walls buried beneath the sands. If Troy was real, how much of Homer's twin tales of gods and monsters, curses and miracles-The Iliad and The Odyssey-could also be true and awaiting discovery? In the frozen tundra of Greenland, a group of modern-day climatologists and archaeologists stumble on a shocking find: a medieval ship buried a half mile below the ice. The ship's hold contains a collection of even older artifacts-tools of war-dating back to the Bronze Age. Inside the captain's cabin is a magnificent treasure that is as priceless as it is miraculous: a clockwork gold atlas encircled by an intricate silver astrolabe. The mechanism is signed with the name of its creator, Ismail al-Jazari, a famous Muslim inventor considered to be the Da Vinci of the Arab world-a brilliant scientist who inspired Leonardo's own work. Once activated, the moving globe traces the path of Odysseus' famous ship as it sailed away from Troy. But the route detours as the map opens to reveal an underground river leading to a hidden realm underneath the Mediterranean Sea. The map indicates that this subterranean world is called Tartarus, the Greek name for Hell. In mythology, Tartarus was where the wicked were punished and the monstrous Titans of old, imprisoned. When word of Tartarus spreads-and of the cache of miraculous weapons said to be hidden there-tensions explode in this volatile region where Turks battle Kurds, terrorists wage war, and civilians suffer untold horrors. The phantasmagoric horrors found in
            Read more

            ISBN 9780062892898
            Released AU 23 Mar 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Sigma Force Novels
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Homecoming
             

            Homecoming (Paperback)

            By Dean, Ellie

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Pub Date
              23 Jan 20

            ************** PRE-ORDER NOW: THE EIGHTEENTH CLIFFEHAVEN NOVEL BY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ELLIE DEAN

            ISBN 9781787462793
            Released AU 23 Jan 2020
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Cliffehaven Series
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers

            The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers (Paperback)

            By Bell, Johanna

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • To Order

            A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife. ***More information coming soon***

            ISBN 9781529330854
            Released AU 26 Dec 2019
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series The Bobby Girls
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 16.3K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›