Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            General & Literary Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 133K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Dickens Boy

            The Dickens Boy (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Keneally, Tom

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In this joyful novel, our narrator is Charles Dickens's tenth child, Edward Bulwer Lytton Dickens, known as Plorn. Sent, as his brother Alfred had been before him, at sixteen years of age, to Australia to learn to 'apply himself', we follow his early Australian adventures in outb...ack NSW learning to become a man from the most diverse and toughest of men. Part of Dickens' motivation was to separate these younger of his children from the Dickens family schism, where Charles had expelled his wife from the family home, keeping her sister Georgie there to run the household and taking up with the actress Ellen Tiernan. Plorn arrived in Melbourne in late 1868 carrying a terrible secret. He has never read a word of his father's work. After a very brief stopover he is sent out to become a gentleman stockman on a 2000 square mile station in remotest, semi-arid parts of NSW. Here he inevitably gets enmeshed in a tribe named the Paakintji and various other folk, colonists, colonial-born, ex-convicts, ex-soldiers, and very few women - though he is struck by each one he does encounter. Plorn did not expect he would encounter the same veneration of his father and familiarity with his work in Australia that was rampant in England. Against this backdrop, and featuring cricket tournaments, horse-racing, bushranging, sheep droving, shifty stock and station agents, frontier wars and first encounters with Australian women we follow Plorn, and sometimes his brother Alfred, through wonderful adventures as he works to apply himself. This is Tom Keneally in his most familiar terrain. Taking historical figures and events and reimagining them with verve, compassion and humour. It is a romp.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760893194
            Published AU 31 Mar 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            No Small Shame: One wrong choice will change her life forever

            No Small Shame: One wrong choice will change her life forever (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Bell, Christine

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Australia, 1914. The world is erupting in war. Jobs are scarce and immigrants unwelcome. For young Catholic Mary O'Donnell, this is not the new life she imagined. When one foolish night of passion leads to an unexpected pregnancy and a loveless marriage, Mary's reluctant husband ...Liam escapes to the trenches. With her overbearing mother attempting to control her every decision, Mary flees to Melbourne determined to build a life for herself and her child. There, she forms an unlikely friendship with Protestant army reject Tom Robbins. But as a shattering betrayal is revealed, Mary must make an impossible choice. Does she embrace the path fate has set for her, or follow the one she longs to take? From the harshness of a pit village in Scotland to the upheaval of wartime Australia, No Small Shame tells the moving story of love and duty, loyalty and betrayal, and confronting the past before you can seek a future.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781920727901
            Published AU 1 Apr 2020
            Publisher Ventura Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Gilded Cage

            The Gilded Cage (Trade Paperback / Paperback, edition)

            By Lackberg, Camilla

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A gripping new psychological thriller from No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg 'A sexy, sensational novel with intoxicating vengeance and an unexpected tenderness' Karin Slaughter

            ISBN 9780008283735
            Released AU 1 Apr 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Shadow

            The Shadow (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Raabe, Melanie

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $26.39
            • Save $6.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A pacy psychological thriller about the slippery nature of the truth and destiny from award-winning German author Melanie Raabe

            ISBN 9781922268617
            Published AU 31 Mar 2020
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English)
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            A Strange Country
             

            A Strange Country (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Barbery, Muriel

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $23.99
            • Save $6.00
            • Pub Date
              28 Apr 20

            From the author of The Elegance of the Hedgehog, which spent 54 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list, this literary fantasy is for fans of Atwood, Ishiguro and David Mitchell.

            ISBN 9781922268983
            Published AU 28 Apr 2020
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English)
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Elly
             

            Elly (Hardback)

            By Wetzel, Maike

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • Pub Date
              28 Apr 20

            A missing child is a nightmare for any family. But what happens when they come back? Eleven-year-old Elly is missing. After an extensive police search she is presumed dead, and her family must learn to live with a gaping hole in their lives. Then, four years later, she reappears.... But soon her parents and sister are plagued by doubts. Is this stranger really the same little girl who went missing? And if not, who is she? Elly is a gripping tale of grief, longing, and doubt, which takes every parent's greatest fear and lets it play out to an emotionally powerful, memorable climax. It is a literary novel with all the best qualities of a thriller.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781925849165
            Published AU 28 Apr 2020
            Publisher Scribe Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Mountain
             

            The Mountain (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Donati, Massimo

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $26.39
            • Save $6.60
            • Pub Date
              28 Apr 20

            The first novel to be translated into English from an award-winning master of European storytelling.

            ISBN 9781925773569
            Published AU 28 Apr 2020
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English)
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Someone Like You: A Novel
             

            Someone Like You: A Novel (Hardback, 4th edition)

            By Kingsbury, Karen

            • RRP: $42.99
            • $32.24
            • Save $10.75
            • Pub Date
              1 Jun 20

            Science raises questions only love can answer in this moving and thought-provoking novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Baxter Family books.

            ISBN 9781982104313
            Released AU 1 Jun 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Baxter Family
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Coonardoo

            Coonardoo (Paperback)

            By Prichard, Katherine Susannah

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.24
            • Save $3.75
            • Temporarily out of stock

            A powerful novel about race that's become a classic of Australian literature. A tough, uncompromising novel about the difficult love between a white man and a black woman. Coonardoo is the moving story of a young Aboriginal woman trained from childhood to be the housekeeper at Wy...taliba station and, as such, destined to look after its owner, Hugh Watt. the love between Coonardoo and Hugh, which so shocked its readers when the book was first published in 1929, is never acknowledged and so, degraded and twisted in on itself, destroys not only Coonardoo, but also a community which was once peaceful. this frank and daring novel set on the edge of the desert still raises difficult questions about the history of contact between black and white, and its representation in Australian writing.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780732296933
            Published AU 1 Mar 2013
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series A&R Classics
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Harbour
             

            Harbour (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Lindqvist, John Ajvide

            On a winter trip home to the island of Domaro, Anders and Cecilia take their six-year-old daughter Maja across the ice to visit the lighthouse at Gavasten. And Maja disappears. Leaving not even a footprint in the snow. Two years later, alone and more or less permanently drunk, An...ders returns to Domaro to confront his dispair.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781921656675
            Published AU 27 Sep 2010
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
            View details for this title
            Total 133K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›