Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Anita Abriel

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 5 jump to: go
              The Light After the War

              The Light After the War (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Abriel, Anita

              • RRP: $32.99
              • $24.74
              • Save $8.25
              • In Stock At Publisher

              In the bestselling tradition of THE GIRL FROM MUNICH and THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ, an extraordinary tale based on the true story of how the author's mother survived World War II against all odds. In 1946 two young Hungarian refugees arrive in Naples determined to start a new li...fe after losing everyone they loved before the war. Vera Frankel and her best friend, Edith Ban, are haunted by their terrifying escape from a train headed for Auschwitz after their mothers threw them from the carriage, promising they would follow. But instead the girls found themselves alone in a frozen, alien land. They managed to find refuge and barter for their lives by working on an isolated farm in Austria until the end of the war. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American general, Vera finds work and new hope at the United States Embassy and, despite her best intentions, falls in love the handsome and enigmatic Captain Anton Wight. But as Vera and Edith grapple with the aftermath of the war, so too does Anton, and when he suddenly disappears, Vera is forced to drastically change course. Their quest to overcome their terrible losses and rebuild their lives takes Vera and Edith from Naples to Ellis Island to Venezuela and finally Sydney as they begin to build careers, reunite with old friends - and find love. Heartbreakingly moving and compelling, THE LIGHT AFTER THE WAR is inspired by the story of the author's Holocaust survivor mother and her escape with her best friend from a train to Auschwitz. Praise for The Light After the War`You will be swept away by this fast-paced, heartbreaking and hopeful tale of friendship, family, second chances and the enduring power of love, based on the true story of the author's mother in war-torn Europe.' Kristin Harmel, bestselling author of The Room on Rue Amelie `A heartfelt and memorable tale of family, love, resilience and the triumph of human spirit.' Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris
              Read more

              ISBN 9781760852405
              Published AU 1 Feb 2020
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              The Light After the War
                

              The Light After the War (EPUB ebook)

              By Abriel, Anita

              • RRP: $57.50
              • $57.50
              • In Stock At Publisher

              Inspired by the true story of one woman's extraordinary journey to forge a new life after escaping a train bound for Auschwitz. In 1946 twoyoungHungarian refugees arrive in Naples after losing everyone they loved before the war. Vera Frankel and her best friend, Edith Ban, are ha...unted by their terrifying escape from a train headed for Auschwitz after their mothers threw them from the carriage, promising they would follow. But instead the girls find themselves alone in a frozen, alien land. They manage to find refuge and barter for their lives by working on an isolated farm in Austria until the end of the war. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American general, Vera finds work and new hope at the United States Embassy and, despite her best intentions, falls in love the handsome and enigmatic Captain Anton Wight. But when Anton suddenly disappears, Vera is forced to drastically change course. Their quest to rebuild their lives takes Vera and Edith from Naples to Ellis Island to Venezuela and finally Sydney as they carve out careers - and find love. Heartbreakingly moving and compelling, The Light After the War is inspired by the true story of the author's Holocaust survivor mother. Praise forThe Light After the War 'You will be swept away by this fast-paced, heartbreaking and hopeful tale of friendship, family, second chances and the enduring power of love, based on the true story of the author's mother in war-torn Europe.'Kristin Harmel, bestselling author ofThe Room on Rue Amelie 'A heartfelt and memorable tale of family, love, resilience and the triumph of human spirit.' Pam Jenoff, bestselling author ofThe Lost Girls of Paris 'There is so much inThe Light After the Warthat truly shines:Unforgettable love, family, faith-and the courageous resolve of two young women to mend their lives and seek new beginnings in a world tragically changed. Fans of historical fiction are sure to devour this tale of hope, reinvention and the power of friendship to heal the
              Read more

              ISBN 9781760852412
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Published AU 1 Feb 2020
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
              Interest Age General Audience
              Ebook Terms 2 year limit on Simon & Schuster titles. view?
              Loan Credits 0
              Each copy purchased buys 0 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              The Light After the War
               

              The Light After the War (Hardback)

              By Abriel, Anita

              • RRP: $53.99
              • $43.19
              • Save $10.80
              • In Stock US

              ATRIA fiction original hardcover --Copyright page.

              ISBN 9781982122973
              Released AU 4 Feb 2020
              Publisher Atria Books
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              The Light After the War
                  

              The Light After the War (Library Binding, Large type / large print edition)

              By Abriel, Anita

              • RRP: $94.99
              • $94.99
              • Pub Date
                1 Jun 20

              In 1946, Vera Frankel and her best friend Edith Ban arrive in Naples as refugees from Hungary. They jumped from the train that carried their mothers to Auschwitz and spent the rest of the war hiding on an Austrian farm. Now, the two young women are determined to start new lives a...broad. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American officer, Vera finds work at the American embassy where she falls in love with Captain Anton Wight.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781643586366
              Released AU 1 Jun 2020
              Publisher Center Point
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 1 Jun 2020
              View details for this title
              The Light After the War
                

              The Light After the War (Audio CD / Audio)

              By Abriel, Anita; Read by Vilinsky, Jesse

              • RRP: $79.50
              • $79.50
              • In Stock US

              Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, this sweeping novel of love and friendship spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the postwar years from Naples to Caracas, perfect for fans of The German Girl and We Were the Lucky On...es. It is 1946 when Vera Frankel and her best friend Edith Ban arrive in Naples. Refugees from Hungary, they managed to escape from a train headed for Auschwitz and spent the rest of the war hiding on an Austrian farm. Now, the two young women must start new lives abroad. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American officer, Vera finds work at the United States embassy where she falls in love with Captain Anton Wight. But as Vera and Edith grapple with the aftermath of the war, so too does Anton, and when he suddenly disappears, Vera is forced to change course. Their quest for a better life takes Vera and Edith from Naples to Ellis Island to Caracas as they start careers, reunite with old friends, and rebuild their lives after terrible loss. Moving, evocative, and compelling, this timely tale of true friendship, love, and survival will stay with you long after you turn the final page.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781797102214
              Released AU 4 Feb 2020
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Audio
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 5 jump to: go