Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Ruby Hamad

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 3 jump to: go
              White Tears/Brown Scars

              White Tears/Brown Scars (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Hamad, Ruby

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $29.74
              • Save $5.25
              • In Stock At Publisher

              When white people cry foul it is often people of colour who suffer. White tears have a potency that silences racial minorities. White Tears/Brown Scars blows open the inconvenient truth that when it comes to race, white entitlement is too often masked by victimhood. Never is this... more obvious than the dealings between women of colour and white women. What happens when racism and sexism collide? Ruby Hamad provides some confronting answers.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780522875584
              Published AU 3 Sep 2019
              Publisher Melbourne University Press
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              White Tears/Brown Scars
               

              White Tears/Brown Scars (EPUB ebook – Main)

              By Hamad, Ruby

              When white people cry foul it is often people of colour who suffer. White tears have a potency that silences racial minorities. White Tears/Brown Scars blows open the inconvenient truth that when it comes to race, white entitlement is too often masked by victimhood. Never is this... more obvious than the dealings between women of colour and white women. What happens when racism and sexism collide? Ruby Hamad provides some confronting answers.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780522875591
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released AU 3 Sep 2019
              Publisher Melbourne University Press
              Interest Age General Audience
              View details for this title
              White Tears/Brown Scars: How White Feminism Betrays Women of Color
                

              White Tears/Brown Scars: How White Feminism Betrays Women of Color (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Hamad, Ruby

              • RRP: $33.22
              • $33.22
              • Pub Date
                6 Oct 20

              For readers of White Fragility, an explosive book of history and cultural criticism ( Ruby Hamad blows open inconvenient truths . . . in this powerful book --Marie Claire Australia) which argues that white feminism, from Australia to Zimbabwe to the United States, has been a weap...on of white supremacy and patriarchy deployed against Black and Indigenous women, and women of color. Taking us from the slave era, when white women fought in court to keep ownership of their slaves, through the centuries of colonialism, when they offered a soft face for brutal tactics, to the modern workplace, White Tears/Brown Scars tells a charged story of white women's active participation in campaigns of oppression. It offers a long overdue validation of the experiences of women of color. Discussing subjects as varied as The Hunger Games, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, the viral BBQ Becky video, and 19th century lynchings of Mexicans in the American Southwest, Ruby Hamad undertakes a new investigation of gender and race. She shows how the division between innocent white women and racialized, sexualized women of color was created, and why this division is crucial to confront. Along the way, there are revelatory responses to questions like: Why are white men not troubled by sexual assault on women? (See Christine Blasey Ford.) With rigor and precision, Hamad builds a powerful argument about the legacy of white superiority that we are socialized within, a reality that we must apprehend in order to fight.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781948226745
              Released AU 6 Oct 2020
              Publisher Catapult
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 6 Oct 2020
              View details for this title
              Total 3 jump to: go