Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Kirk Wallace Johnson

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 4 jump to: go
              The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
               

              The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century (Hardback)

              By Johnson, Kirk Wallace

              • RRP: $53.99
              • $51.99
              • Save $2.00
              • Out Of Print

              Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller. --Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever. --Christian Science Monitor A rollicking true-crime adventure and a ca...ptivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief. On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins--some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them--and escaped into the darkness. Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781101981610
              Released AU 24 Apr 2018
              Publisher Viking
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Out of print
              View details for this title
              The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century

              The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century (Paperback)

              By Johnson, Kirk Wallace

              • RRP: $19.99
              • $14.99
              • Save $5.00
              • In Stock At Publisher

              When he discovered that the thief evaded prison, and that half the birds were never recovered, Johnson embarked upon a years-long worldwide investigation which led him deep into the fiercely secretive underground community obsessed with the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying.

              ISBN 9780099510666
              Released AU 4 Jun 2019
              Publisher Cornerstone
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
                

              The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century (EPUB ebook)

              By Johnson, Kirk Wallace

              Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying.

              ISBN 9781473537057
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released AU 26 Apr 2018
              Publisher Random House
              Interest Age General Audience
              Ebook Terms Titles are sold with a 2 year time limit, or 36 loan limit, 21 days maximum loan period view?
              Loan Credits 36
              Each copy purchased buys 36 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
               

              The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Johnson, Kirk Wallace

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $27.99
              • Save $7.00
              • In Stock US

              Includes A Penguin readers guide to the Feather Thief (12 pages).

              ISBN 9781101981634
              Released AU 23 Apr 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 4 jump to: go