Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Laura Jean McKay

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 4 jump to: go
              The Animals In That Country

              The Animals In That Country (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By McKay, Laura Jean

              • RRP: $29.99
              • $22.49
              • Save $7.50
              • In Stock At Publisher

              When the animals start talking, we're not ready for what we'll learn. Hard-drinking, foul-mouthed, and allergic to bullshit, Jean is not your usual grandma. She's never been good at getting on with other humans, apart from her beloved granddaughter, Kimberly. Instead, she surroun...ds herself with animals, working as a guide in an outback wildlife park. And although Jean talks to all her charges, she has a particular soft spot for a young dingo called Sue. Then one day, disturbing news arrives of a pandemic sweeping the country. This is no ordinary flu- its chief symptom is that its victims begin to understand the language of animals - first mammals, then birds and insects, too. But as the flu progresses, the unstoppable voices become overwhelming, and many people begin to lose their minds. When Jean's infected son, Lee, takes off with Kimberly, heading south, Jean feels the pull to follow her kin. Setting off on their trail, with Sue the dingo riding shotgun, they find themselves in a stark, strange world in which the animal apocalypse has only further isolated people from other species. Bold, exhilarating, and wholly original, The Animals in That Country asks what it means to be human - and what would happen, for better or worse, if we finally understood what animals were saying.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781925849530
              Published AU 31 Mar 2020
              Publisher Scribe Publications
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Holiday in Cambodia
                

              Holiday in Cambodia (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By McKay, Laura Jean

              • RRP: $64.99
              • $24.99
              • Save $40.00
              • No availability locally

              A powerful and impressive debut from one of Australia's most exciting young writers -- for fans of Alice Munro, Nam Le, Lorrie Moore and Jennifer Egan

              ISBN 9781863956062
              Published AU 26 Jun 2013
              Publisher Black Inc
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Animals in That Country
                

              The Animals in That Country (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By McKay, Laura Jean

              • RRP: $32.50
              • $28.00
              • Save $4.50
              • Pub Date
                10 Nov 20

              Out on the road, no one speaks, everything talks.

              ISBN 9781950354375
              Released AU 10 Nov 2020
              Publisher Scribe Us
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 10 Nov 2020
              View details for this title
              Holiday in Cambodia
                

              Holiday in Cambodia (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Large type / large print edition)

              By McKay, Laura Jean

              Beyond the killing fields and the temples of Angkor is Cambodia: a country with a genocidal past and a wide, open smile. A frontier land where anything is possible - at least for the tourists. In Holiday in Cambodia Laura Jean McKay explores the electric zone where local and fore...ign lives meet. There are tender, funny moments of tentative...
              Read more

              ISBN 9781459668928
              Released AU 31 Jul 2013
              Publisher Readhowyouwant
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
              View details for this title
              Total 4 jump to: go