Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Mahogany L. Browne

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 9 jump to: go
              Black Girl Magic
               

              Black Girl Magic (Hardback)

              By Browne, Mahogany L.; Illustrated by Snow, Jess X.

              • RRP: $29.99
              • $26.99
              • Save $3.00
              • In Stock At Publisher

              In response to the destructive ideas of how Black girls should look and act, an internationally recognized poet challenges the conditioning of society by crafting an anthem of strength and magic for all beautiful Black girls, taking readers of all ages on a journey from girlhood ...to womanhood. Full color.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781250173720
              Released AU 30 Jan 2018
              Publisher St Martin's Press
              Interest Age 13+ years
              Availability
              1 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
              View details for this title
              Woke Baby

              Woke Baby (Board Book)

              By Browne, Mahogany L.; Illustrated by Iii, Theodore Taylor

              • RRP: $12.99
              • $11.69
              • Save $1.30
              • In Stock At Publisher

              For all the littlest progressives, waking up to seize a new day of justice and activism.

              ISBN 9781250308986
              Released AU 31 Dec 2018
              Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
              Interest Age 0-3 years
              Availability
              18 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
              View details for this title
              Woke Baby

              Woke Baby (Hardback)

              By Browne, Mahogany L.; Illustrated by Iii, Theodore Taylor

              • RRP: $29.99
              • $26.99
              • Save $3.00
              • To Order

              For all the littlest progressives, waking up to seize a new day of justice and activism

              ISBN 9781626722958
              Released AU 14 Jan 2019
              Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
              Interest Age 0-3 years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              Woke: A Young Poet's Call to Justice
               

              Woke: A Young Poet's Call to Justice (Hardback)

              By Browne, Mahogany L.; Illustrated by Iii, Theodore Taylor; By Acevedo, Elizabeth; Gatwood, Olivia; Contributions by Reynolds, Jason

              • RRP: $29.99
              • $28.64
              • Save $1.35
              • Internationally sourced

              A collection of poems to inspire kids to stay woke and become a new generation of activists.

              ISBN 9781250311207
              Released AU 10 Mar 2020
              Publisher St Martin's Press
              Interest Age 8-12 years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Chlorine Sky

              Chlorine Sky (Hardback)

              By Browne, Mahogany L.

              • RRP: $29.99
              • $22.49
              • Save $7.50
              • To Order

              Picked on at home, criticized for talking trash while beating boys at basketball, and always seen as less than her best friend, a girl struggles to like and accept herself.

              ISBN 9780593176399
              Released AU 12 Jan 2021
              Publisher Random House
              Interest Age Children
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              The BreakBeat Poets Vol. 2: Black Girl Magic
               

              The BreakBeat Poets Vol. 2: Black Girl Magic (Hardback)

              Edited by Woods, Jamila; Browne, Mahogany L.; Simmonds, Idrissa; Foreword by Smith, Patricia

              • RRP: $139.50
              • $87.48
              • Save $52.02
              • In Stock US

              A BreakBeat Poets anthology to celebrate and canonize the words of Black women across the diaspora.

              ISBN 9781642591064
              Released AU 3 May 2018
              Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series Breakbeat Poets
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Breakbeat Poets Vol. 2: Black Girl Magic
               

              The Breakbeat Poets Vol. 2: Black Girl Magic (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              Edited by Browne, Mahogany L.; Simmonds, Idrissa; Woods, Jamila

              • RRP: $37.99
              • $30.09
              • Save $7.90
              • In Stock US

              A BreakBeat Poets anthology to celebrate and canonize the words of Black women across the diaspora.

              ISBN 9781608468577
              Released AU 3 May 2018
              Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Chlorine Sky
                

              Chlorine Sky (Library Binding)

              By Browne, Mahogany L.

              • RRP: $61.99
              • $36.72
              • Save $25.27
              • In Stock US

              A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes. She looks me hard in my eyes & my knees lock into tree trunks My eyes don't dance like my heartbeat racing They s...tare straight back hot daggers. I remember things will never be the same. I remember things. With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780593176405
              Released AU 12 Jan 2021
              Publisher Crown Books for Young Readers
              Interest Age 14+ years
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Black Girl Magic: The Breakbeat Poets Volume 2
                

              Black Girl Magic: The Breakbeat Poets Volume 2 (Audio CD / Audio)

              By Browne, Mahogany L.; Simmonds, Idrissa; Woods, Jamila; Foreword by Smith, Patricia; Read by Edwards, Janina

              • RRP: $47.99
              • $37.69
              • Save $10.30
              • Not Yet Available

              [The BreakBeat Poets is] one of the most diverse and important poetry anthologies of the last 25 years. (Latino Rebels) Black Girl Magic continues and deepens the work of the first BreakBeat Poets anthology by focusing on some of the most exciting Black women writing today. This ...anthology breaks up the myth of hip-hop as a boys' club and asserts the truth that the cypher is a feminine form. Poet and vocalist Jamila Woods was raised in Chicago, and graduated from Brown University, where she earned a BA in Africana Studies and Theatre & Performance Studies. Influenced by Lucille Clifton and Gwendolyn Brooks, much of her writing explores blackness, womanhood, and the city of Chicago. Mahogany L. Browne is a Cave Canem and Poets House alumna and the author of several books including Smudge and Redbone. She directs the poetry program of the Nuyorican Poets Cafe. Idrissa Simmonds is a fiction writer and poet. Her work has appeared in Black Renaissance Noire, The Caribbean Writer, Fourteen Hills Press, and elsewhere. She is the 2014 winner of the Crab Creek Review poetry contest, and a New York Foundation for the Arts and Commonwealth Short Story Award Finalist.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781713551317
              Released AU 28 Jul 2020
              Publisher Audible Studios on Brilliance
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Showing not yet available from supplier. Ships once released.
              View details for this title
              Total 9 jump to: go