Wheelers Books

The Boy Who Flew

The Boy Who Flew
 

What will Athan choose - flight or family? From the acclaimed author of Murder In Midwinter, Fleur Hitchcock's The Boy Who Flew is a thrilling murder-mystery set among the steep rooftops and slippery characters of Athan's intricately imagined world.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781788004381
Barcode 9781788004381
Published 6 May 2019 by Nosy Crow
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Hitchcock, Fleur
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $14.99 Retail price
  • $11.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $3.00!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781788004381
ISBN-10 1788004388
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Nosy Crow
Imprint Nosy Crow Ltd
Publication Date 6 May 2019
International Publication Date 7 March 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Hitchcock, Fleur
Category Thrillers
Crime & Mystery
Number of Pages 240
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 17mm
Weight 225g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 969340

Description of this Book

Athan Wilde dreams of flight. When his friend, Mr Chen, is murdered, Athan must rescue the flying machine they were building together and stop it falling into the wrong hands. But keeping the machine safe puts his family in terrible danger. What will Athan choose - flight or family? From the acclaimed author of Murder In Midwinter, Fleur Hitchcock's The Boy Who Flew is a thrilling murder-mystery set among the steep rooftops and slippery characters of Athan's intricately imagined world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Peter Bunzl and Philip Reeve.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Born in Chobham and raised outside Winchester, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest child of three. She spent her smallest years reading Tintin and Batman, and searching for King Alfred's treasure. She grew up a little, went away to school near Farnham, studied English in Wales, and, for the next twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. When her younger child was seven, she embarked on the Writing for Young People MA at Bath Spa and graduated with a distinction. Now living outside Bath, between parenting and writing, Fleur works with her husband, a toymaker, looks after other people's gardens and tries to grow vegetables.

^ top