Wheelers Books

Heroes on the Home Front: A wonderfully uplifting wartime story

Heroes on the Home Front: A wonderfully uplifting wartime story

***ORDER NOW*** THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE HEART-WARMING FACTORY GIRLS SERIES.Set in north-east England during the Second World War, this heart-warming novel follows the lives of three very courageous women in a munitions factory.

Usually ships 4-6 weeks – This is an indent title (internationally sourced to order from a local supplier).

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781787462588
Barcode 9781787462588
Published 19 September 2019 by Cornerstone
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Clarke, Annie
Series Factory Girls
Availability Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $19.99 Retail price
  • $14.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.00!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781787462588
ISBN-10 1787462587
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Cornerstone
Imprint Arrow Books Ltd
Publication Date 19 September 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Clarke, Annie
Series Factory Girls
Category Sagas
Historical Fiction
Second World War fiction
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 24mm
Weight 277g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress World War, 1939-1945 - Fiction - England, North East
NBS Text Romance & Sagas
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 998979

Description of this Book

***ORDER NOW*** THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE HEART-WARMING FACTORY GIRLS SERIES. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Daisy Styles and Donna Douglas. Set in north-east England during the Second World War, this heart-warming novel follows the lives of three very courageous women in a munitions factory. They work for their poverty-stricken families who live in the surrounding pit villages and must endure incredibly harsh and dangerous conditions. But they will find that their friendship and tenacity is all they need to carry on.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Annie Clarke's roots are dug deep into the North East. She draws inspiration from her mother, who was born in a County Durham pit village during the First World War, and went on to became a military nurse during World War Two. Annie and her husband now live a stone's throw from the pit village where her mother was born. She has written frequently about the North East in novels which she hopes reflect her love and respect for the region's lost mining communities. Annie has four adult children and four granddaughters, who fill her and her husband's days with laughter, endlessly leading these two elders astray.

^ top