Wheelers Books
How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference
 

How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Huntley, Rebecca

A self-help book for the climate era, for readers of Ross Garnaut, Tim Flannery, Hugh Mackay Why is it so hard to talk about climate change? Perhaps no other issue today is as confronting as our warming earth. But while scientists double down on the shocking figures, we still fin...d ourselves unable to discuss climate change meaningfully among friends and neighbours - or even to grapple with it ourselves. The key to progress on climate change is in the psychology of human attitudes and our ability to change. Whether you're already alarmed and engaged with the issue, concerned but disengaged, a passive skeptic or an active denier, understanding our emotional reactions to climate change - why it makes us anxious, fearful, angry or detached - is critical to coping on an individual level and convincing each other to act. This book is about understanding why people who aren't like you feel the way they do and learning to talk to them effectively. What we need are thousands - millions - of everyday conversations about the climate to enlarge the ranks of the concerned, engage the disengaged and persuade the cautious of the need for action.
Read more

ISBN 9781760525361
Published AU 2 Jul 2020
Publisher Murdoch Books
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Out of print

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781760525361
Stock Out of stock
Status Out of print
Publisher Murdoch Books
Imprint Murdoch Books
Published 2 Jul 2020
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Huntley, Rebecca
Category Environmentalist Thought & Ideology
Global Warming
Sustainability
Australian
Number of Pages 304
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Dewey Code 363.73874
Weight 400g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Environment & Ecology: General Interest
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP