Wheelers Books
In Your Face: The Hidden History of Plastic Surgery and Why Looks Matter

In Your Face: The Hidden History of Plastic Surgery and Why Looks Matter (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Mendelson, Bryan

  • RRP: $29.99
  • $22.49
  • Save $7.50
  • Temporarily out of stock

We humans have been modifying our faces for centuries -- from medieval face-pulling competitions (often fatal) and criminal punishment in ancient India (rhinokopia), to post-war reconstructive surgery and contemporary cosmetic surgery. But what is it that compels us to go 'under ...the knife'? Is it simply the pursuit of beauty, or is it a deeper drive for survival? And why, with all our advances in medical science, does some plastic surgery look so bad? You can open any women's magazine and find at least one article showing some celebrity's cosmetic surgery gone wrong, often resulting in that familiar and laughable but tragic 'wind tunnel' face. The truth is that kind of look is not really plastic surgery at all -- it's cosmetic surgery done by underqualified practitioners using outdated techniques. It shouldn't happen. This book shows you why and how. In the tradition of The Brain That Changes Itself and Guns, Germs & Steel, this lively exploration of the history and science of plastic surgery looks at 500 years of the face -- what we do to it, what it means for us, and what the future holds.
Read more

ISBN 9781742701233
Published AU 1 Mar 2013
Publisher Hardie Grant Books
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Availability
Title is temporarily out of stock

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781742701233
Stock Available
Status Title is temporarily out of stock
Publisher Hardie Grant Books
Imprint Hardie Grant Books
Published 1 Mar 2013
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Mendelson, Bryan
Category Popular Culture
Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
History Of Science
Australian
Number of Pages 304
Dimensions Width: 160mm
Height: 233mm
Spine: 18mm
Dewey Code 617.0592
Weight 340g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Popular Culture & Media: General Interest
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP