Wheelers Books



Adapted for a trilogy of films, Intrigo is a collection of novellas and short stories from the master of Nordic Noir, Hakan Nesser.

Pre-order title with delayed release date of [to be advised]. Title ships on release.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781509892181
Barcode 9781509892181
Published 10 January 2019 by Pan Macmillan
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (5 other possible title(s) available)
Language English (translated from: Swedish)
Author(s) By Nesser, Hakan
Availability Pre-order title, release date has been delayed

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $19.99 Retail price
  • $15.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $4.00!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781509892181
ISBN-10 1509892184
Stock Available
Status Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Imprint Mantle
Publication Date 10 January 2019
International Release Date 17 October 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Language English
Translated from Swedish
Author(s) By Nesser, Hakan
Category General & Literary Fiction
Modern Fiction
Adventure / Thriller
Crime & Mystery Fiction
Short Stories
Number of Pages 576
Dimensions Width: 130mm
Height: 197mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age 18+ years
Reading Age 18+ years
Library of Congress Detective and mystery stories, Swedish - Translations into English
NBS Text Short Stories & Fiction Anthologies
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 839.738
Catalogue Code 922741

Description of this Book

For fans of Scandinavian crime, Intrigo is the gripping collection of Hakan Nesser's best novellas and short stories, three of which have been adapted into major motion pictures. Set in the fictional city of Maardam, each story is linked by themes of secrets coming to light, lies being exposed, and pasts coming back to haunt the people who thought they had fled them - all told in Hakan Nesser's signature style of dark, cutting prose that displays a true understanding of human nature. The collection is the basis for a trilogy of international films - Dear Agnes, Death of an Author and Samaria -directed by Daniel Alfredson and starring Ben Kingsley and Gemma Chan.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review One of the best of the Nordic Noir writers * Guardian * A master of suspense * Sunday Times * The godfather of Swedish crime * Metro * One of Sweden's best crime writers * Mail on Sunday *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Hakan Nesser is one of Sweden's most popular crime writers and has received numerous awards for his novels about Inspector Van Veeteren, including the European Crime Fiction Star Award (Ripper Award), the Swedish Crime Writers' Academy Prize (three times) and Scandinavia's Glass Key Award. His Van Veeteren series is published in over twenty-five countries and has sold more than 15 million copies worldwide. Hakan Nesser lives in Gotland with his wife, and spends part of each year in the UK.

^ top