Wheelers Books

The Brooklands Girls

The Brooklands Girls

The Brooklands Girls is the second title in the Maitland trilogy by bestselling author Margaret Dickinson.

This title is no longer available locally, but in stock internationally – usually ships 2-3 weeks.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781509851485
Barcode 9781509851485
Published 24 January 2019 by Pan Macmillan
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Dickinson, Margaret
Series The Maitland Trilogy
Availability Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $57.99 Imported price
  • $52.19 Wheelers price
  • You save $5.80!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781509851485
ISBN-10 1509851488
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Imprint Macmillan
Publication Date 24 January 2019
International Publication Date 10 January 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Dickinson, Margaret
Series The Maitland Trilogy
Category Romantic Fiction: Historical
Historical Fiction
Number of Pages 528
Dimensions Width: 162mm
Height: 241mm
Spine: 48mm
Weight 822g
Interest Age 18+ years
Reading Age 18+ years
Library of Congress Great Britain - Fiction - History - George V, 1910-1936, World War, 1914-1918 - Fiction - Great Britain
NBS Text Romance & Sagas
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.914
Catalogue Code 952054

Description of this Book

It is the early 1920s and the Maitland family are still coming to terms with the aftermath of the Great War. After her brave work as an ambulance driver and nurse close to the Front, Pips is restless and without purpose. Determined to enjoy life after the years of misery, and to help her forget a broken love affair, she seeks excitement in the London parties and balls of the Roaring Twenties. No family or community escaped the ravages of this war, and Pips knows her own has its share of troubles. Her brother, Robert, returned injured and is now battling demons of his own. Struggling to find a purpose in life, he is convinced his career as a doctor is over. It is Pips's young niece, Daisy, on whom the family dotes, who brings them joy and hope for the future. But when faces from the past reappear, Pips is posed with a dilemma. Can she ever trust a man's promises and allow herself to love again? The Brooklands Girls is the heartfelt sequel to The Poppy Girls, by bestselling author Margaret Dickinson.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Queen of Saga * Daily Express *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Born in Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, Margaret Dickinson moved to the coast at the age of seven and so began her love for the sea and the Lincolnshire landscape. Her ambition to be a writer began early and she had her first novel published at the age of twenty-five. This was followed by many further titles including Plough the Furrow, Sow the Seed and Reap the Harvest, which make up her Fleethaven trilogy. She is also the author of The Buffer Girls and its sequel Daughters of Courage. Margaret is a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

^ top