Wheelers Books
To the Eastern Seas: Thomas Kydd 22
 

To the Eastern Seas: Thomas Kydd 22 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Stockwin, Julian

  • RRP: $32.99
  • $24.74
  • Save $8.25
  • Pub Date
    29 Oct 19

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: To the Eastern Seas will be the twentieth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.

ISBN 9781473698697
Barcode 9781473698697
Release Date 29 October 2019 by Hodder & Stoughton
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Series Thomas Kydd
Availability
Available for pre-order, ships once released

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781473698697
ISBN-10 1473698693
Stock Release date is 29 October 2019
Status Available for pre-order, ships once released
Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
Imprint Hodder & Stoughton
Release Date 29 October 2019
International Publication Date 17 October 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Stockwin, Julian
Series Thomas Kydd
Category Historical Adventure Fiction
War Fiction
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 152mm
Height: 232mm
Spine: 38mm
Weight 520g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Seafaring life - Fiction - History - 19th century
NBS Text War Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 1002406

Description of this Book

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian With Bonaparte held to a stalemate in Europe, the race to empire is now resumed. Britain's ambitions turn to the Spice Islands, the Dutch East Indies, where Admiral Pellew has been sent to confront the enemy's vastly rich holdings in these tropical islands. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd joins reinforcements to snatch these for the British Crown. The two colonial masters of India and the East Indies face each other in mortal striving for the region - there can be only one victor to hold all the spoils. The colonial genius, Stamford Raffles, believes Britain should strike at the very centre of Dutch spice production, the Moluccas, rather than the fortresses one by one but is fiercely opposed. Kydd, allying himself to this cause, conspires to lead a tiny force to a triumphant conclusion - however the Dutch, stung by this loss, claim vengeance from the French. A battle for Java and an empire in the East stretches Kydd and Tyger's company to their very limits. ************* Praise for Julian Stockwin's Kydd series 'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' Daily Express 'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail' Nautical Magazine 'Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book' Historical Naval Society

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review The novel's prose is fast paced and engaging . . . Stockwin's considerable experience of the Navy shines through to provide informative and shrewd observations throughout. There is so much here for those who are fans of seafaring adventures, but also an excellently sustained sense of the history, politically and socially, of the period. A highly recommended swashbuckler of a novel * Literature Works * In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world. * Guardian *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to TS Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.JulianStockwin.com.

^ top