Wheelers Books
Fall, or Dodge in Hell
 

Fall, or Dodge in Hell (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Stephenson, Neal

The astonishing new work of imaginative fiction from master storyteller and futurist, Neal Stephenson, author of Reamde, Seveneves and Snow Crash Richard Dodge Forthrast, the billionaire founder and chairman of video game company Corporation 9592, was last seen in Neal's Stephens...on's 2011 novel Reamde. Now middle-aged, Dodge lives a comfortable life in Seattle, managing myriad business interests and spending quality time with his grandniece, Sophia, daughter of his beloved niece Zula (also last seen in Reamde). As Fall opens, Dodge undergoes a routine medical procedure ; when something goes horribly, irrevocably wrong, he is pronounced brain dead and put on life support. As Dodge's family and friends gather and struggle to come to terms with this turn of events, his health directive comes to light: Dodge's remains are to be given to Ephrata Life Sciences and Health, a company founded and run by one Elmo Shepherd. Dodge's brain will be scanned, its data structures uploaded to and stored in the cloud. What happens next is pure, unadulterated, mind-blowing FUN: a grand drama played out on an epic scale in digital space. For what is achieved, ultimately, is nothing less than the disruption of death itself. A new world, the Bitworld, is created - an afterlife wherein humans live on not as spirits but as digital simulations. But this brave new world is not the Utopia it might first seem... Neal Stephenson is at the cutting edge of speculative fiction. His sprawling, epic stories are master works of imagination, conjuring an all-too-real, all-too-possible future for our society. His work has been recognised by multiple awards and high-profile fans such as Barack Obama. In the tradition of William Gibson and Liu Cixin, The Fall is a compelling, terrifying, fast-paced near-future thriller.
Read more

ISBN 9781460752128
Published AU 20 May 2019
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Out of print

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781460752128
Stock Out of stock
Status Out of print
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Published 20 May 2019
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Stephenson, Neal
Category Science Fiction
Australian
Number of Pages Not specified
Dimensions Width: 156mm
Height: 235mm
Spine: 52mm
Dewey Code Not specified
Weight 898g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Science Fiction & Fantasy
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP