Wheelers Books

Call Me Evie: The Australian Bestseller with a jaw-dropping twist

Call Me Evie: The Australian Bestseller with a jaw-dropping twist
  

A stunning psychological thriller set between Australia and New Zealand, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and hit TV series TOP OF THE LAKE.

* Usually ships 6-12 working days* – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780751576511
Barcode 9780751576511
Published 18 April 2019 by Little, Brown Book Group
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Pomare, J. P.
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $49.99 Retail price
  • $39.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $10.00!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780751576511
ISBN-10 0751576514
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Imprint Sphere
Publication Date 18 April 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Pomare, J. P.
Category Adventure / Thriller
Crime & Mystery Fiction
NZ, Maori & Pasifika
Australian
New Zealand & Related
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Width: 160mm
Height: 236mm
Spine: 42mm
Weight 660g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress FICTION / Thrillers / Crime, FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological, FICTION / Psychological, Crime & mystery
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

'Literary suspense as dark and fresh as midnight in winter, with a merciless twist-of-the-knife finale. One of the most striking debuts I've read in years and years' A. J. FINN, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window In this compulsive, twist-filled and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever... **** Don't trust him. It wasn't me. It couldn't have been me. Evie and her Uncle Jim have just moved to the small, insular town in New Zealand - a far cry from their hometown of Melbourne. But Evie isn't her real name. And Jim isn't really her uncle. Jim tells Evie she did something terrible back home, that he's hiding her to protect her. But Evie can't remember anything about that night - she doesn't know if he's telling the truth. As fragments of her memory starts to return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her saviour . . . or her captor. A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth even from ourselves.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

JP Pomare grew up on a horse-racing farm in small town New Zealand with his three older siblings and his father. He left for Melbourne where he developed his craft, entrenching himself in the Australian literary community. For almost two years he produced and hosted a podcast called On Writing, interviewing almost thirty local and international authors including Joyce Carol Oates, John Safran, Dorthe Nors, E Lockheart, Chris Wormersley, and Sofie Laguna. J P Pomare has been published in several journals and has also won, and been short- and longlisted for a number of prizes include the KYD Unpublished Manuscript Prize. Call Me Evie is his first novel.

^ top