Wheelers Books

No Bones

No Bones
  

A tale of a young woman growing up in a Belfast beset by the Troubles . If Amelia is to live she needs to change. Can she though? She lives in a place where: eight-year-olds collect very peculiar treasure; babies might or might not be bombs; and schoolgirls bring guns into the sc... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780393323030
Barcode 9780393323030
Published 21 May 2002 by WW Norton & Co
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Burns, Anna
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $31.50 Retail price
  • $29.92 Wheelers price
  • You save $1.58!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780393323030
ISBN-10 039332303X
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher WW Norton & Co
Imprint WW Norton & Co
Publication Date 21 May 2002
International Publication Date 17 May 2002
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Burns, Anna
Category Award Winning
Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 272
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 211mm
Spine: 25mm
Weight 290g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Bildungsromans, Young women, Political violence, Girls, Belfast (Northern Ireland)
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 970527

Description of this Book

A shattering and blackly funny debut in the tradition of Roddy Doyle, No Bones follows a young woman growing up in a Belfast beset by the Troubles.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

Awards Short-listed for Women's Prize for Fiction 2002
NZ Review Anna Burns is excellent at evoking the strange ecosystem that emerges during protracted conflict. -- Claire Kilroy - Guardian Burns never once winces or loses control of her material in this mordant, wry, unforgiving tale of the loss of innocence, for a girl and her country. -- Kirkus Reviews

^ top

Author's Bio

Anna Burns was born in Belfast in 1962 and moved to London in 1987. This is her first book.

^ top