Wheelers Books

The Journey

The Journey

A book for all people.And all who read it will be changed by the experience. When Argus leaves home at fourteen every reader will travel with him.And what happens to Argus will resonate deep inside every one of us.Adventure, fear, passion: failure and success. These are the eleme... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780330271714
Barcode 9780330271714
Published 1 July 1990 by Pan Macmillan
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Marsden, John
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $14.99 Retail price
  • $11.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $3.00!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780330271714
ISBN-10 0330271717
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Imprint Pan Australia
Publication Date 1 July 1990
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Marsden, John
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Australian
Number of Pages 192
Dimensions Width: 117mm
Height: 178mm
Spine: 13mm
Weight 132g
Interest Age Children
Reading Age Children
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code A823'.3
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

A book for all people. And all who read it will be changed by the experience.

". . . an extraordinary book. . . I would commend it to everybody." Terry Lane, ABC Radio

The Journey is a story of young people in a world so different and yet so like our own. It is a world in which young people must undertake a journey of discovery on their way to becoming adults.

Fourteen-year-old Argus sets out on his journey away from his valley and his parents, never knowing what adventure will befall him next. He learns how to survive in the wild until he meets with a travelling fair, which he joins, becoming a friend of Mayon the storyteller, of Lavolta and Parara - twins who share the same body - and many others.

But it is with the sweet and wise Temora that he learns some of the deepest secrets.

All journeys must find an end. Argus leaves the fair and travels on alone, until his last and greatest adventure beckons him home. There he tells, for the approval of his elders, the seven stories which are now his story. But all is not done.

There is one more chapter to be lived out in the story of Argus.

Fans of Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins and John Flanagan will love John Marsden.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

John Marsden is Australia's bestselling author for teenagers and a highly acclaimed picture book writer. His titles include Winter, The Head Book, The Boy You Brought Home and Millie. John Marsden lives at the Tye Estate, just outside of Melbourne, where he opened a school called Candlebark in January 2006. The school currently has 52 students, ranging from Prep to Year 7.

^ top