Wheelers Books

Dear Sweet Pea

Dear Sweet Pea
 

And Sweet Pea happens to recognize the handwriting on one of the envelopes.What she decides to do with that letter sets off a chain of events that will forever change the lives of Sweet Pea DiMarco, her family, and many of the readers of Miss Flora Mae I?

Pre-order title (not yet released/available) and will ship once released.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780062473073
Barcode 9780062473073
Release Date 24 September 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (5 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Murphy, Julie
Availability Available for pre-order, ships once released

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $34.99 Retail price
  • $26.24 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.75!
Add to Basket (Pre-order) Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062473073
ISBN-10 0062473077
Stock Release date is 24 September 2019
Status Available for pre-order, ships once released
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint Balzer and Bray
Release Date 24 September 2019
International Release Date 1 October 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Murphy, Julie
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Number of Pages 288
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 210mm
Spine: 28mm
Weight 371g
Interest Age 8-12 years
Reading Age 8-12 years
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 983866

Description of this Book

The first middle grade novel from Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin' (now a popular Netflix film), is a funny, heartwarming story perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Ali Benjamin, and Holly Goldberg Sloan. Patricia Sweet Pea DiMarco wasn't sure what to expect when her parents announced they were getting a divorce. She never could have imagined that they would have the brilliant idea of living in nearly identical houses on the same street. In the one house between them lives their eccentric neighbor Miss Flora Mae, the famed local advice columnist behind Miss Flora Mae I? Dividing her time between two homes is not easy. And it doesn't help that at school, Sweet Pea is now sitting right next to her ex-best friend, Kiera, a daily reminder of the friendship that once was. Things might be unbearable if Sweet Pea didn't have Oscar-her new best friend-and her fifteen-pound cat, Cheese. Then one day Flora leaves for a trip and asks Sweet Pea to forward her the letters for the column. And Sweet Pea happens to recognize the handwriting on one of the envelopes. What she decides to do with that letter sets off a chain of events that will forever change the lives of Sweet Pea DiMarco, her family, and many of the readers of Miss Flora Mae I?

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for PUDDIN': This companion to the very popular Dumplin' introduces more memorable characters for whom readers can't help but cheer. -- School Library Journal Praise for PUDDIN': Julie Murphy has created the platonic love story of a lifetime. I am wildly in love with Puddin'. -- Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of <em>Leah on the Offbeat</em> and <em>Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda</em> Praise for PUDDIN': Murphy's plot brims with unlikely friendships, irresistible romance, fabulous fat acceptance, and a kick-ass ending. Buoying. -- Kirkus Reviews <strong>(starred review)</strong> Praise for PUDDIN': Murphy's energetic writing style makes for compulsive readability. -- Booklist Praise for PUDDIN': Texans and non-Texans alike will appreciate getting to know two strong-minded Lone Star girls. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Praise for RAMONA BLUE: An exquisite, thoughtful exploration of the ties that bind and the fluidity of relationships, sexuality, and life. -- Kirkus Reviews <strong>(starred review)</strong> Praise for RAMONA BLUE: Julie Murphy knows a thing or two about navigating the worlds of girls on the brink of self-discovery. -- Booklist <strong>(starred review)</strong> Praise for RAMONA BLUE: A must-have work that will resonate with teens -- School Library Journal Praise for RAMONA BLUE: Julie Murphy delivers a fresh and glorious love story that addresses all the complexities of one's heart. Ramona Blue's discovery of limitless love is total beauty. -- Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of <em>They Both Die at the End</em> Praise for RAMONA BLUE: Ramona Blue is Julie Murphy's best book yet. It's hilarious, it's heartfelt, and it's so, so real. I just wish I'd had this book to read during my own teen years! -- Robin Talley, New York Times bestselling author of <em>Lies We Tell Ourselves</em> Praise for RAMONA BLUE: Murphy creates a place that feels deeply real...a great setting for a coming-of-age story, as Ramona realizes that she's capable of more than she imagined and that some categories are more fluid than she'd thought. -- Publishers Weekly Praise for RAMONA BLUE: Satisfying -- The Horn Book Praise for DUMPLIN': Will's singular voice compels readers to think about all that goes into building-and destroying-self-esteem...Splendid -- Booklist <strong>(starred review)</strong> Praise for DUMPLIN': Murphy...successfully makes every piece of the story-Dolly Parton superfans, first love, best-friend problems, an unlikely group of pageant entrants, female solidarity, self-acceptance, and Willowdean's complicated relationship with the mother...-count, weaving them together to create a harmonious, humorous, and thought-provoking whole. -- Publishers Weekly <strong>(starred review)</strong> Praise for DUMPLIN': I'm obsessed with this book. Wickedly funny, heartbreakingly real, full of characters to love and cheer for. DUMPLIN' is such a star. -- Katie Cotugno, author of <em>How to Love</em> and <em>99 Days</em> Praise for DUMPLIN': Dumplin' should be required reading for anyone who has ever felt even slightly uncomfortable in his or her skin. Julie Murphy's star continues to shine with this groundbreaking, poignant story that will surely change lives. -- John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of <em>Noggin'</em> and <em>Where Things Come Back</em> Praise for DUMPLIN': Dumplin' made me want to high-five everyone in the world. If there's any justice on this godforsaken earth, Julie Murphy will become the next household name synonymous with YA. -- Cristin Stickles, McNally Jackson Books Praise for DUMPLIN': [A] richly enjoyable novel...a clever and funny book to please lovers of thoughtful romance and secret pageant fans. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Praise for DUMPLIN': Genuine, romantic, and with a dash of Texan charm, this is a novel that celebrates being who you are while also acknowledging that it's incredibly difficult to do. -- The Horn Book Praise for DUMPLIN': Portrays and challenges sterotypes about beauty pageants, size issues, and women's concerns...Powerful. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: Honest and unflinching, this is a compelling story of one teen's struggle with cancer, love, and living. A worthwhile addition. -- School Library Journal Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: Readers will turn the last page wanting to know where the next chapter leads. -- Kirkus Reviews Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: Alice and Harvey's relationship is raw, honest, moving, and unapologetic in its depiction of their individual, and collective, pain. -- Booklist Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: Julie Murphy weaves together a tender and funny tale of love, friendship, heartache, and redemption. Side Effects May Vary explodes with brutal honesty, brilliant wit, and unflinching heart. -- John Corey Whaley, winner of the Michael L. Printz Award for <em>Where Things Come Back</em> Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: Julie Murphy's Side Effects May Vary is a funny, heartfelt, honest look at the beauty and the risk of getting a second chance. An inspiring novel about all the things worth living for. I adored this debut! -- Siobhan Vivian, author of <em>The List</em> Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: A funny and touching novel about a strong-willed heroine who finds facing death simple, but facing life heart-wrenchingly complicated. A real original. -- Jennifer Echols, author of <em>Going Too Far</em> Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: A tale of unlikely romance, impossible obstacles, and mortality, this book is a must-read. -- Teen Vogue Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: It's equal parts fun, cringe-worthy, and totally fearless! -- Seventeen Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. After several wonderful years in the library world, Julie now writes full-time. When she's not writing or reliving her reference desk glory days, she can be found watching made-for-TV movies, hunting for the perfect slice of cheese pizza, and planning her next great travel adventure. She is also the author of the young adult novels Dumplin' (now a film on Netflix), Puddin', Ramona Blue, and Side Effects May Vary. You can visit Julie at www.juliemurphywrites.com.

^ top