Wheelers Books

The Equen Queen

The Equen Queen

The Equen Queen is the second book in the highly successful series: Quentaris - Quest of the Lost City and is the sequel to The Spell of Undoing by Paul Collins. While moored to a new world Quentaris is approached by another sky-city. The sky-traders on board seem friendly and ge... read full description below.

This title can only be ordered as part of Wheelers ePlatform - a library lending platform for schools and public libraries.

Log in with an ePlatform enabled account.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781921665332
Published 1 July 2008 by Ford Street Publishing
Available in EPUB format
Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
Language en
Author(s) By Brugman, Alyssa
Series Quentaris: Quest for the Lost City

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781921665332
Stock Available
Status Wheelers ePlatform
Publisher Ford Street Publishing
Imprint Ford Street Publishing
Publication Date 1 July 2008
International Publication Date 1 May 2008
Publication Country Australia Australia
Format EPUB ebook – 1st edition
Edition 1st
Author(s) By Brugman, Alyssa
Series Quentaris: Quest for the Lost City
Category Australian
Interest Age 8-11 years
Reading Age 8-11 years
Number of Pages 98
Dimensions Not specified
Weight Not specified - defaults to 0g
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 256222

Description of this Electronic Book

In Book 1, The Spell of Undoing, readers met Tab Vidler, a mind-melding orphan who discovered the perpetrator of a misguided spell that uprooted the city of Quentaris, sending it hurtling through a vortex.
Now safe from its enemy and tethered to a new world, Quentaris is approached by another sky-city. The Quentarans don't have the resources for another fight so soon after fending off Tolrush, so are relieved to discover the occupants of this city want nothing more than to trade. The Quentarans are given two Equens, horse-like animals that can apparently heal the sick, and showered with pretty gems in exchange for games to keep the sky-traders occupied on their never-ending journey. Tab soon learns, however, that not only are the sky-traders lying about the Equens, but the gems aren't theirs to give. The gems' true owners are coming, and they want their stones back.
The insectile horde that descends on Quentaris is like nothing they've ever encountered before. Effortlessly, the creatures paralyse the city and set about retrieving their property. Quentaris's fate appears to be sealed, until Tab has an idea that just might save them all.
Fans of fantasy and adventure are sure to love this series.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Reviewed by Jenny Mounfield. Like its predecessor, this book is visually appealing. The text is easy to read and broken up by many detailed line drawings. Having written a number of books for young people - several of which have attracted awards - Brugman handles her first foray into fantasy with style and aplomb. The plot is well-structured and engages the reader from the first sentence. Although not of her own creation, the characters are all Brugman's as she leads readers at a cracking pace from one crisis to another. Fans of fantasy and adventure are sure to love this series.

^ top

Author's Bio

Alyssa Brugman's books have been short-listed for numerous literature and children's choice awards in Australia and overseas, and have been translated into seven languages. A new novel, Solo, was released mid 2007. A fifth instalment in the Shelby pony series will be released in 2008. The Equen Queen is her first venture into fantasy writing. Alyssa lives in the Hunter Valley with her partner and son and their horses, and is a full time writer. You can find more information at www.alyssabrugman.com.au

^ top